Saturn in Synastry . . . Neith’s take

A friend requested my take on how Saturn works in synastry between the charts. As a true Libra Sun person with a life-long fascination with how relationships work how could I say “no”? Over the years, I done a lot of reading relating to synastry plus looked at a lot of different relationships plus my own – especially my own! When it comes to Saturn, I still favor Steven Arroyo’s work in this area. He is a fellow Libra and has done extensive astrological relationship counseling over the years. Another favorite, Liz Greene, has what I consider “the Book” on Saturn: “Saturn: a new look at an old devil”. Between these two astrologers and my own experiences, Saturn in synastry is simply not the bad guy that more traditional astrologers have made him out to be.

This is not to say there aren’t inter-chart aspects with Saturn that are not tough to deal with as there are. Saturn forming squares and inconjuncts to the Moon and Venus in particular can be difficult to resolve. However, conjunctions and oppositions as well as squares show up with great frequency in chart comparisons of couples that have been together – and happily – for many years. One of the key factors may be that most of time there has been some kind of formal documentation of the relationship, i.e., marriage, wills, etc. Saturn likes it very much when both partners sign on the dotted line and announce to the community that they are a couple.

Conjunctions, trines, sextiles and oppositions between Saturn and the Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Ascendant and Descendant are all aspects that can indicate a relationship that will be durable. Saturn acts as a stabilizing element and helps ground the relationship in time and space. When the synastry has loads of Jupiter and Uranus inter-aspects for fun and freedom, I like to see a good solid Saturn aspect to provide some balance. If I don’t see one or two, then the likely hood is the relationship will burn brightly and then both partners will move on.

My S/O’s Saturn is conjunct my Moon/Neptune which falls in his seventh House . . . classic aspect for the long run. Traditional astrology says I will experience this as oppressive and run into lots of resistance to the natural expression of my emotional nature. I will own up to some of that but after seventeen years of being essentially happy and comfortable together my over-riding experience has been one where I find him emotionally dependable and this creates a feeling of security for me. OK, I have Taurus on the cusp of my seventh House so I LIKE a partner that others may find boring but that’s the beauty of astrology – we can determine what type of partner best suits us.

While we love to look chart comparisons, I feel I must reiterate . . . ONE MORE TIME . . . chart comparisons start with the individual! And if as an individual, you are not yet in a place to be a good partner, please acknowledge that to yourself if no one else. My Libra side tells me the willingness to compromise is a very important aspect of being a good partner. To make healthy compromises, we need to know exactly what we will and will not compromise on. This goes right to the heart of being a good partner . . . 🙂

I am willing to field questions on this subject but if someone wants an in-depth sysnastry reading, we may have to discuss cost . . . That being said, I love doing chart comparisons!


This is the wedding photo of my Libra mom & Cancer dad . . . they were married just a week shy of 63 yrs when she died this past spring. One of the reasons I believe in the possibility of lasting reasonably happy relationships!

22 responses to “Saturn in Synastry . . . Neith’s take

  1. We (my Aries and I) have a Saturn/Mars (mine/hers) conjunction AND a Saturn/Neptune (hers/mine) conjunction. We have experienced both the positives and the negatives of these. But even the negatives we have navigated beautifully and successfully.

  2. We have experienced both the positives and the negatives of these. But even the negatives we have navigated beautifully and successfully.that is good hearing! i am making a note to discuss Neptune in synastry . . . that ought to prove challenging. Neptune is darn hard to write about in any meaningful way.

  3. Congratulations on your new blog, Neith! There’s definitely a future in synastry.One reason your Moon-Saturn conjunction may not be so bad is that there are mitigating factors, the most important of which is your Moon in his seventh house. That’s one of the top indicators of marriage. And with his seventh-house Saturn, he is all the more predisposed to making a relationship work (good for him!).

  4. Neptune in synastryFor me, their Saturn on my Neptune has proved to be a clear and repeated indicator in past dating situations that ‘we’ would not fly. (Why I keep attracting such people is a whole other discussion! :-D) (I ~am~ learning to deflect them faster and faster all the time however! :-D) (Hopefully, I will soon finish learning what it is I need to be learning, and thereby stop attracting them!! :-D)Neptune plays a huge and *complex* (and *healhty*) role in my sexuality and my relationships, one that I consciously choose to honor and nurture. When it meets a cold Saturn wall, it’s end of game right there.

  5. One reason your Moon-Saturn conjunction may not be so bad is that there are mitigating factors, the most important of which is your Moon in his seventh house. That’s one of the top indicators of marriage. And with his seventh-house Saturn, he is all the more predisposed to making a relationship work (good for him!).And this is a man with Uranus square his Sun. It just goes to show how important 7th House planets are when it comes to our one-on-one relationships.Thanks for the vote of confidence for this new venture. I have a feeling these blogs will continue to play an important role in my career as a practicing astrologer. synastry is really my area too. I can read charts of various kinds & transits but working with chart comparisons & synastry is where my intuition flows the best.

  6. When it meets a cold Saturn wall, it’s end of game right there.interesting point. thanks for putting that out there. over on elsa’s blog she has had several posts on Saturn & Neptune in people’s charts. mine are closely sextile so it seems to work for me particularly as an artisan . . . that silk shawl is classic.

  7. mine are closely sextileMy natal Saturn and Neptune are sextile, and they work beautifully together. (Saturn does not *have to be* a cold wall, btw. I know that very well.)

  8. ooh I’m liking this! I look forward to your writing, Neith. And it’s always a blast (sometimes literally) to watch a Scorpio Mars when s/he chooses an area of specialized interest!

  9. ooh I’m liking this! I look forward to your writing, Neith. And it’s always a blast (sometimes literally) to watch a Scorpio Mars when s/he chooses an area of specialized interest!Ha, Ha, Ha! yes, Mars in Scorpio is relentless when diving into a subject!!

  10. Thanks for this blog. Here is something that I wonder about a lot: when a person has a chart that indicates difficulties in relationships, does that mean that s/he will never be able to have a happy stable one? Bc, as you say, if you have to start with the individual chart, then it seems like it’s a fact that some people just aren’t made for relationships–no matter how much they may long for them or work on themselves to be able to have one. So I guess what I’m asking is: How can you tell from a chart if the individual has transcended the relationship issues within or if s/he’s a lost cause?

  11. I just wrote about Saturn in relationships on my blog. I’m convinced it’s more benevolent than it gets credit for. In the Vedic system, Venus and Saturn are considered to be “great friends.”

  12. Hello Marmitelover,What about Saturn in the 7th in the synastry? Traditional astrology is not too optimistic…Saturn in the 7th is surprisingly common in the synastry of long lasting marriages but more important is not to take it out of context. If there are lots of great synastry aspects supporting good communication, a shared sense of humor, etc. then Saturn in the 7th can give the relationship legs.

  13. HiI am nuts about someone, but the whole thing is really complicated. I really hope you can help.Our synastry generally is great (we complete Grand Trines in each other's charts, moon 7th house, n.nodes conjunct sun in one direction and ascendant in the other, conjunct sun/moon midpoints, etc., etc.!)The problem is that he seems deeply ambivalent about it (tho' I'm not sure I shouldbe completely surprise since he is a Gemini sun /Cancer Asc with a see-saw chart!) and the one thing you can guarantee is that when things get really close, the next thing you know he is galloping off into the sunset about 10 seconds later.The only real problem with our chart synastry IS a biggy and it is the placement of his saturn. It completes a Grand Square in my chart (square my saturn-orb = 1deg – and mars – orb=3 degs -, opposite my sun orb=1 deg) and is also conjuct my vertex.Basically, can all the wonderful aspects in the world make up for this c****y placement? Or (she said, hopefully!) am i overestimating its devastation?Please put me out of my misery one way or the other.Thanks Liz

  14. Hi Liz,The only real problem with our chart synastry IS a biggy and it is the placement of his saturn. It completes a Grand Square in my chart (square my saturn-orb = 1deg – and mars – orb=3 degs -, opposite my sun orb=1 deg) and is also conjuct my vertex.A grand cross creates stability more than anything and with both your Saturn's as part of it, this pattern is very stable. It would appear your Gemini SO finds this confining rather than comforting. I came across a great post by another astrologer, Dawn Bodrogi, on Saturn in synastry. Maybe I just like it so much because she feels much as I do about Saturn! We need Saturn to provide structure in our lives and our relationships. He's not so bad once you get used to him – usually after your first Saturn Return! 🙂Synastry Q & A: Saturn Aspects

  15. Glad to have found this page Neith :)I am very interested in someone but had been concerned about the Saturn overlays between our charts. After reading your comments here I'm a bit more optimistic. My Saturn overlays her 7th but my Sun and Mars are in her 8th. Her Saturn overlays my 8th but her Sun is in my 7th widely conjunct my 7th NN. I'm having to think this could just be grounding since we seem to have a nice fire grand trine between us. My Leo Moon conjuncts her asc and Venus exactly. My Sag asc conjuncts her 5th h.Neptune exactly while her Moon is a few degrees away. Asc are trine. All this makes a nice trine to her Mars/Jupiter conjunction that conjuncts my Venus/Jupiter conjunction in Aries. Also, Suns in trine ~ I'm a Pisces and she is a Cancerian. So again perhaps the Saturn placements are not as dreary as some other descriptions might lead one to believe?Would really like your opinion!

Leave a Reply

