The Shared Degrees Impact in Synastry

Shared Degrees are one of basic pieces in the puzzle of synastry. The short version is simply when the same degrees show up in both charts or in the charts of several individuals these are “Shared Degrees”. Sun Sign based astrology for the masses often points to a certain segment of the population with say the first 10 degrees of a Sign as a clue to the effect of transits – for my purposes I going to narrow that down to around 6 degrees.

For example, I have Venus in Sagittarius at 2 degrees in my First House. This is a friendly, cheerful placement of Venus . . . ***waves & smiles*** I would not be at all surprised to find planets and major angles from zero to six degrees in the charts of my faithful readers. And when Saturn moved into Virgo at the beginning of September in his usual relentless fashion, he squared my poor little Venus. At the same time all those people out there with planets, Ascendants and Midheavens from zero to six degrees also went “Whoa! Saturn is in the house!!” And we’ve all been paying a lot of attention to various tasks related to where Saturn aspected our charts.

Because we usually share several points of contact between the charts of those we are drawn to, we are often affected at the same time by a transiting planet. If it’s Venus doing the transiting or Jupiter, the effect is often upbeat and positive. Mars can be energizing to the point of igniting yelling matches or, if you are lucky, great sex! Saturn transits often point us in the direction of picking up neglected responsibilities and so on.

My point is this: Because we share degrees with our friends, lovers and associates, we will be affected by transits at the same time. Those shared experiences can either draw us together or drive us apart. Often it’s difficult to assess exactly what the result will be except with good old 20-20 hindsight. That being said, a good astrologer can be very helpful in alerting his or her clients to upcoming transits and what to be aware of . . .

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I am considering fielding questions on Synastry/Compatibility and posting the answers here. This would be done in a fashion that protects the privacy of the individuals. My purpose would be to illustrate synastry in action, not render judgment. If there are enough questions sent in, I will endeavor to a) post more frequently or b) choose the common theme illustrated by several.

This is the Lover’s card from the Osho Zen tarot deck.

20 responses to “The Shared Degrees Impact in Synastry

  1. Neith, I just want to wish you luck with your new blog. You have an entirely different voice over here and I like it. 🙂

  2. Hi Neith! Love the new site, I’ll look forward to reading it.I just wanted to tell the story of my own love life in light of the shared degrees idea. My ex and I shared lots of points of contact: My Sun conj. his Moon, both of which conjuncted Neptune and squared Uranus, My Mars squared his Sun and his Mars on my asc. Very tight aspects, and we were very connected but like you say, every time one of us went through the something the other one did too and it was difficult to tell who was having which experience.My current and last spouse (9 years now) and I have very few points of contact and if I saw our charts together I would wonder what we were doing together. But we have interesting overlaps: My Sun is conj. Neptune and his is in Pisces, his Venus is in Aquarius and mine is trine Uranus, etc. Because we don’t share many degrees we are able to assist each other in transitory cycles which is a huge boon!Anyway – as always I look forward to whatever you share Neith.

  3. Neith, I just want to wish you luck with your new blog. You have an entirely different voice over here and I like it. 🙂Different voice?! hmmmmmm, must be that mutable Virgo MC. :-DThis is my “professional” voice, the one I use to communicate with clients. Glad to get the positive feedback!

  4. My current and last spouse (9 years now) and I have very few points of contact and if I saw our charts together I would wonder what we were doing together. But we have interesting overlaps: My Sun is conj. Neptune and his is in Pisces, his Venus is in Aquarius and mine is trine Uranus, etc. Because we don’t share many degrees we are able to assist each other in transitory cycles which is a huge boon!Great stuff, Lynn! Thanks for stopping by and sharing more of your personal story. this is the kind of information that adds so much to our astro knowledge database. I believe Steven Arroyo referred to this particular synastry situation as “Parallels”. I’ve seen this before too when doing chart comparisons and was fascinated by how well this works.

  5. I have no relationships anymore to have synastry with — however, I find it interesting that my very best friend has her sun directly on my mid-Heaven. (and a bunch of scorpio commonalities) We bonded over astrology when she was 16 and I was 18. We’ve never lost touch, even when she moved away. However I’ve been very bad since July and need to go send her an e-mail. The rest of my relationships seems to revolve around mutabilities and dualities. little fishies swimming in opposite directions.

  6. oh, yes, my best friend — I’ve followed her into every career change she’s ever made, except when she became a lawyer. Midheaven. Career. Interesting.

  7. I have no relationships anymore to have synastry with — however, I find it interesting that my very best friend has her sun directly on my mid-Heaven. (and a bunch of scorpio commonalities) We bonded over astrology when she was 16 and I was 18. We’ve never lost touch, even when she moved away. However I’ve been very bad since July and need to go send her an e-mail. Funny how we tend to think of relationships in terms of someone we view romantically. Must be my Libra but I look at ALL the one-on-one relationships in my life with an eye to the synastry . . . 😀oh, yes, my best friend — I’ve followed her into every career change she’s ever made, except when she became a lawyer. Midheaven. Career. Interesting.hmmmm, you never know when you will need a good lawyer and one that knows you well! Especially when it’s your MC/career that is a source of difficulty for you at the time. =grin=

  8. ***smiles and waves***heheh Neith, you’re so funny 🙂 Endearing would be the word for a 1st house Venus, maybe.I’ve noticed that especially with my parents who are both Gemini, we have a few oppositions between us and transits affect us all. Plus my father has an Aries ascendant like me, we go through the same things in the same areas. And this Mars in Cancer will be on our 4th house for some time. I dread to think of it, to be honest!

  9. Oh yeah, when my hubs saturn hit, we were all hit. It was tragic to say the least. Someone once told me we had a saturn relationship, whatever that means. But when his saturn hit him hard, I felt it and wondered once again what it mean to have a saturn relationship.

  10. And this Mars in Cancer will be on our 4th house for some time. I dread to think of it, to be honest!Know what you mean . . . let’s hope you will be doing some serious house cleaning or some such thing. Mars is about Action. Family synastry is a fascinating study because it is often like a thread that stitches each person into the group. It is a rare family where when one is affected by a transit that all the rest aren’t in some way. Over on Astro.com there is a way to do a composite with multiple individuals . . . if there is good birth data for the whole family, it would be fun to run a Composite chart for the family unit!An astrologer’s greatest challenge is often to get good birth data . . . 🙂

  11. My Saturn & Mercury are within that 0-6 degree mark of your Venus, maybe that’s why I enjoy your blog so much. :)Sometimes I’m afraid of synastry to be honest, because I’ve seen the some of the points between my partner and I. His Venus/Merc in Virgo sq. my Venus/Merc in Sag. Lol, a barrel of laughs some days. I think he nit picks and over examines, a stickler that can’t let go of things. It blows my Sag mind sometimes. It can take me 5 mins to explain something, while he’ll take 5 hours if you’ll allow him to. It makes my eyes cross at times.However we have a few strong Pluto & Saturn aspects, Pluto is very responsible in getting us together. When I met him again after a few years I felt like I was being knocked over the head with some cosmic force. Time literally stood still and all I could hear in my head was, ” I know you, we’ve met before, you’re supposed to be in my life.” And then the moment passed and I felt completely awkward and woozy. Somehow fate played out and now we’re together. Sometimes its a breeze, but we’ve had our fair share of dramatics. I should probably be ashamed to say it, but it’s the dramatics that secretly makes me love him and us more. 😉

  12. Someone once told me we had a saturn relationship, whatever that means. But when his saturn hit him hard, I felt it and wondered once again what it mean to have a saturn relationship.My best guess without seeing your charts is that Saturn plays a major role in your synastry. Being responsible to the family & each other can be a strong theme. The best part about Saturn is if you play by his rules, you usually find life more enjoyable as you mature. And if i’m correct, you DID send your birth data & I will be able to give you more accurate feedback!! 😀

  13. I think he nit picks and over examines, a stickler that can’t let go of things. It blows my Sag mind sometimes. It can take me 5 mins to explain something, while he’ll take 5 hours if you’ll allow him to. It makes my eyes cross at times.ROFL!!! Janelle, you crack me up!!! This is such an amazing description of the differences between Virgo & Sagittarius!! Is he a Leo? Lots of Fire makes for good drama . . . and if you both have Fire, you both will enjoy it. If you read Elsa Elsa, you know she has Venus is Leo and gets a great deal of pleasure out of relationship drama. She has me laughing my head sometimes at her antics!heh, you might as well enjoy each other as much as you can. It makes Life so sweet . . .Say, you wouldn’t happen to know if there is a Vertex connection between your charts? That will sometimes cause a hit like you described when you met him. It is important to have an accurate birth time to calculate that though.

  14. See, a barrel of laughs until I tell him to cut it short. He is a Leo and believe me when I say that he doesn’t like his spotlight time cut short. He’ll either sulk or roar.I’m not sure about the vertex, but I do have accurate birth times if you’d like to take a look.Me: 12/18/1985Jamaica, NY 7:24amHim8/10/1984New York, NY3:35am

  15. Say, you wouldn’t happen to know if there is a Vertex connection between your charts?My Aries has a teenage son.Our vertexes are conjunct.Further, his sun is conjunct my Chiron, and my moon is conjunct his Chiron.I am looking forward to seeing how this will play out.

  16. See, a barrel of laughs until I tell him to cut it short. He is a Leo and believe me when I say that he doesn’t like his spotlight time cut short. He’ll either sulk or roar.Ha, ha, ha, ha!!! oh god, janelle, that is sooo funny!! Leo, ya gotta love ’em!!Yup!! Your Saturn/Mercury are conjunct his South Node/Vertex!! Love astrology . . . 😀

  17. My Aries has a teenage son.Our vertexes are conjunct.Further, his sun is conjunct my Chiron, and my moon is conjunct his Chiron.I am looking forward to seeing how this will play out.Jane, you know I love you dearly but I’m not going to touch that particular scenario with a 10′ pole! ***she says laughing so hard tears are running down her cheeks***

  18. I love the new blog so far. Then again, with my Mercury and South Node at 3 degrees Sagittarius, did I have a choice…? 🙂

  19. I love the new blog so far. Then again, with my Mercury and South Node at 3 degrees Sagittarius, did I have a choice…? 🙂LOL!! Thanks!! 😀

  20. That was ~his~ vertex and mine, btw, in case that wasn’t clear.I’m on my way there this weekend (4 days off). (Driving too, Merc retch and all!)See you on the other side of it!!!(It’s Canadian Thanksgiving.):-DOh. His mother and I had a little challenge on our hands tonight (involving a third party). It blew me away (once more) how we handled it — solved the problem to both our satisfactions.

Leave a Reply

