The Natal Chart in Synastry, Part 1 – Pluto

Because I keep referring to our natal charts as the starting point of what to consider first when looking at compatibility with others, I thought I would do some posts looking at how the outer planets impact how we relate to others. So I’m going to start with the furthest out, Pluto, and work in towards the Sun . . .

I have touched on Pluto in synastry but there is always more where he is concerned. Pluto is all about the depths of our beings and it can take a lifetime to explore all his mysteries. When looking at a natal chart to get a sense of how the individual will react/respond in relationships, Pluto aspects can offer significant clues. In fact, the two books I read and reviewed here this past year, “The Hades Moon” and “Healing Pluto Problems”, contain a lot of very sound information on the Pluto effect in natal charts. So I will hit some of the high points in this post and suggest both books as resources for further exploration.

Pluto aspecting the Sun, especially by conjunction, square and opposition, points to a tendency to obsess when it comes to relationships. This is an individual who often draws other Plutonians or Scorpios to themselves, and just as often scares the holy crap out of those who are not interested in wading through the darker side of their natures. Often a Pluto transit to the Sun will help this person work their way down to the reasons behind their obsessive behaviors. This is a painful process but can do wonders for freeing us from the worst of our obsessions, making it a lot easier to form good relationships with others.

When the Moon is in aspect to Pluto, the emotional issues are often a source of angst. I suggest reading “The Hades Moon” as a primer on dealing with issues stemming from Moon/Pluto aspects. One of the difficulties with Moon/Pluto aspects is the nature of the Moon herself. She describes our intuitive, unconscious behaviors and feeling nature; and often forgiveness of self and acceptance of what we may view as “bad” is imperative to begin the healing process. The rewards for taking the plunge and healing our emotional wounds can be finding a way to self-respect and better relationships.

Venus and Mars in aspect to Pluto can lead to “sticky fingers”. Pluto here makes it very, very hard to keep from holding on to the object of our desire so hard it destroys the relationship. Mars/Pluto aspects often give us hints as to what type of behaviors we sabotage potentially good relationships with, and Venus/Pluto aspects can be likened to a black hole of neediness. Again the solution lies within our selves . . . we need to find our way to reclaiming our power from the dark side and owning it without judgment. This is possible because I’ve done it . . . but only with help from Donna Cunningham’s tools for dealing with Pluto. Yes, I know, good Plutonian that I am, I keep recommending her books over and over. 🙂

Pluto conjuncting the Ascendant or Descendant is obviously going to have an impact in how the person reacts/responds when relating to others on a one-to-one basis too. Pluto on the Ascendant (or Scorpio Rising) is the power player and often lays down the rules in a “my way or the highway” manner. Their partners are often the submissive sorts who don’t mind being bossed around. Having Pluto on the Descendant is the reverse of this – the partner drawn to this individual is the controlling type.

All of the above examples are drawn broadly and I would like to note that there are many people out there who use their Pluto aspects natally in a much less drastic fashion. If you are looking at your chart and seeing Pluto aspects, the best course of action is to start the process of acceptance and understanding. Giving our selves the time to allow healing to take place is important too. This all comes from personal experience in case you are wondering . . . I am a Plutonian and Pluto has transited ALL my personal planets and Ascendant by conjunction. And I’m still here to talk about it!

This is the Magician card from the Goddess Tarot deck. I associate the ability to transform our very beings with this card . . . and Isis is a wonderful goddess to contemplate.

11 responses to “The Natal Chart in Synastry, Part 1 – Pluto

  1. Pluto doesn’t tend to notice distinctions in aspects 🙂 Any aspect involving Pluto will get your attention sooner or later. Having said that I will say the trines & sextiles tend to make it easier to observe what’s going on because it’s easier to detect and find some perspective. The “hard” aspects can obliterate any thing that resembles objectivity. This is where astrology can really help because it points these things out!

  2. Thanks for this post, Neith.I’ve often noticed Pluto aspects in my synastry with other people, also because it is conjunct my Venus. It is a scary aspect sometimes when I read about it because it’s almost fate-like – if you don’t control your overwhelming plutonian feelings, everything that you’re trying so hard to avoid will innevitable happen to you.

  3. if you don’t control your overwhelming plutonian feelings, everything that you’re trying so hard to avoid will inevitable happen to you.Pluto/Venus is tricky to navigate all right. My suggestion would be to work on neutrality if at all possible. Pluto just loves it when we opt to “control” because he will often use that opening to increase the obsession factor . . . it’s a dance all right! 🙂

  4. Pluto-Mars conjunction…in Scorpio. Confessed sticky fingers. I’ve almost smothered the life out of my current relationship on several occasions, and its been scary in the past the way I literally unraveled at the thought of my relationship ending. I’m getting better with it, becoming more independent of my partner and focusing more on myself and the things and people who make me happy. Its been a little bit awkward at first, but now I’m warming up to the idea of having my own life and him actually trying to get a hold of me, not the reverse. As I learned in college, The one with the least interest holds the power. I don’t want to play mind games, but I don’t want to be at anyone’s mercy when it comes to my emotional stability.

  5. Spot on, Neith. I’ve got Pluto Square my Sun, Moon and Venus, and I recognize myself in your descriptions. Obsessive? Check. Emotional issues? Check. Needy? Check. The funny thing is that it’s only since Pluto transited these planets either by conjunction or opposition in last decade or so that I’ve actually realized these things about myself. In my twenties I thought I was “in control” and, boy, do I find that laughable now. As you pointed out in one of your comments, the “hard” aspects do make objectivity difficult, and I also agree that Pluto loves “control.” Now that I’m older and wiser, and can actually recognize the obsessiveness and neediness, I have a fighting chance of really gaining some control, and the way I’ve discovered works best for that is stepping back and acknowledging that I really do have very little control of situations I’m obsessing about. And that acknowledgment frees me.Of course, I also plan to track down “Hades Moon” and “Healing Pluto Problems” and doing some reading. 🙂

  6. As I learned in college, The one with the least interest holds the power. I don’t want to play mind games, but I don’t want to be at anyone’s mercy when it comes to my emotional stability.You and me both!!! You are doing very well to have that recognition in hand. There seems to be no substitute for earning self-respect and being kind to yourself and others. Once we find that place, even if we lose it we can find our way back.

  7. Now that I’m older and wiser, and can actually recognize the obsessiveness and neediness, I have a fighting chance of really gaining some control, and the way I’ve discovered works best for that is stepping back and acknowledging that I really do have very little control of situations I’m obsessing about. And that acknowledgment frees me.It’s like the key to freedom, isn’t it. Thank you VERY much for sharing this with us. Those of us with Pluto aspects need all the affirmations we can get there is a way to work with him that is also the path to true freedom . . .You will enjoy both those books! The upside of being a Plutonian as I’ve said before, is that we are very good at healing ourselves with the proper tools. That transformation/transmutation is real, not a pipe dream.

  8. Hello Neith! What a great solar return check-in this post is for me, with my scorpio sun and pluto squaring mars/venus conjunction natally, ayayayi. I like what j. wrote about Pluto transiting these energies made the shadow pieces available, retrievalbe and possible to integrate more fully into a working whole. I certainly know the dark side of my needy, obsessive, dramatic love-drenched-nature better now. But I think once we meet Pluto with surrender (ok, admittedly EXCRUCIATING at best for scorpio types like me, the whole vulnerabilty/surrender thing) but once we get even a little experience with this, Pluto becomes an amazing ally for us and the depth of what we most want and need to transform in ourselves happens in a kind of cellular “completeness” that other astro-allies can’t manage in the same way or, I’ll say, linear time.I’m currently being blasted all over my chart and in synastry by Uranus. But I credit my 4-year dance with Pluto squaring itself and conjuncting my mars/venus with a kind of supernatural Trust in the process of change. Also, once we’ve got a relationship with inner Pluto, the outer Plutonic pieces or relationships lose some of the stickiness and always, always point us Inward. Which i think is an amazing gift of Pluto energy, natally or by visitation! Now, having written all of this with something like “saucy” confidence, i’m going to sink back into my scorpion swamp for a while and order the Cunningham book on amazon and shiver-me-timbers that I’m not in the direct heat of a current Pluto transit! Thank you, Neith, for the beautiful and evocative writings.

  9. Hi Neith. I just found you via Astrodynamics. Interesting discussion of Pluto in the chart. I have an eBook of Donna Cunningham’s, but I think going back to the Healing Pluto Problems would be a good idea. I have Saturn transiting my natal conjoined Venus/Pluto at 2 Virgo (Merc at 0 Vir). I’m 49 and still working on these things, sigh! But Saturn, God love him, is along to help bring some focus and grounding. (My mom died when the transit hit in September.) My natal Moon is conjunct Uranus, so it’s an odd balance with the Venus/Pluto.Anyway, thanks for this post. I appreciate the healing sentiments. I finally found a local astrologer who is Plutonian and gets it. Some astrologers seem very uncomfortable with Pluto.

Leave a Reply

