Neptune in Synastry, Part Two

Neptune is so good at creating illusions and causing us to second guess ourselves, it’s no wonder this post got put on hold. However, I have been seeing Neptune aspects showing up with great frequency in chart comparisons lately so I thought I would take another shot at the elusive one.

Reading over on Elsa P’s blog the other day, I came across a great description of the way Neptune operates, especially in synastry. Here is the quote:

“And then he said the perfect “Neptune” thing. “It’s not that you look like a whore, it’s that they want you to be a whore… they wish you were a whore so when they look at you, you’re a whore.”

If Neptune is playing a major role is synastry (aspecting the personal planets in particular) wishes truly can become horses and you can ride off into La La land no problem. We want to believe the best of anyone that we care about and in general that’s no bad thing. One or two Neptune aspects, especially Venus/Neptune aspects, can amp up the “Romance” factor and make all concerned very happy. If there are some good solid Saturn aspects to keep all parties grounded in something resembling reality, Neptune aspects add a nice touch to the overall relationship.

Where unrealistic expectations and projections start to become problematical is if there are several Neptune intra-aspects (same planets from both charts). For example, if Neptune is conjuncting or squaring Mercury, it’s very easy for miscommunications to start snowballing. We can read way too much into the simplest statements and end up thinking someone is head over heels in love with us when they are putting out “friends only”.

Neptune on the Ascendant is often found in the charts of actors and actresses allowing them to appear to be someone they’re not. All of us watching them perform are part of the agreement to suspend disbelief and see them as the role they are playing. For an ordinary person, Neptune on the Ascendant can create problems because it can be difficult to know exactly how others are seeing us in our day to day interactions in the world at large. Our friends and lovers are ga ga over their idea of who we are, not the actual person. Conversely, Neptune can lead us to believe we are quite undesirable unless we have ourselves painted to the hilt. The beauty industry makes big bucks off this . . . REALLY big bucks.

There is a great deal to be said for consulting a trusted neutral third party if Neptune is heavily involved in synastry to help sort out what is really happening. I know I have brought up un-manifested potential before with Neptune aspects. I have Moon conjunct Neptune natally and can usually see the possibilities inherent in an individual. The dicey part is those possibilities may never materialize.

(Venus and Neptune will be trine in the heavens on November 26th – good timing for a post on Neptune on a blog about synastry! Posts on Neptune always seem to go sideways on me and refuse to fit into a pattern and I noticed this happened again. Well, I’m sure a post on Saturn in synastry will be nice and tidy! =grin=)

This is the Seven of Cups from the Goddess tarot deck and picking your choice of illusion is very fitting for a discussion of Neptune…. 🙂

20 responses to “Neptune in Synastry, Part Two

  1. I think I have already mentioned that I’m very “allert” about Neptune aspects in Synastry. I had several in a past relationship, including Sun and Mercury oppositions and Sun-Neptune conjunction, amongst many others. It took me a long time to get real about that relationship. And even in the composite chart, Neptune was the only planet in the 7th house, so you can imagine how crucial it was.

  2. There’s so much Neptune here, I know not what to say.Except of course, I have no clue about the bloody thing. I was distracted.max[‘Look! Grass!’]

  3. I think I have already mentioned that I’m very “allert” about Neptune aspects in Synastry. I had several in a past relationship, including Sun and Mercury oppositions and Sun-Neptune conjunction, amongst many others. It took me a long time to get real about that relationship. urrrggh! That’s exactly why I believe in approaching Neptune with caution. There are a lot of astrologers who go on about Neptune & spirituality & romance but not this one . . . that being said, I do think Pisces types seem to do better with Neptune – it’s like they come inoculated against his weirder stuff!

  4. Ah. Neptune in Synastry aka The Land of the Lotus Eaters.I worked in a theatre collective twenty years ago and there was so much Neptune in the synastry of relationships there. The energy worked to shape vital creative work on stage, and group intoxication via real drugs and endless romantic entanglements off stage. A 20 year old can afford a few detours into the poppy fields of imaginary relationships. At 42 i have to be very alert, as devil mood wrote.Neptune is a “god connection” energy. In right relationship, it bridges human reality with Otherworld. But Neith is right–some solid Saturn connections are essential to ground this out. With my natal Neptune in Scorpio, I am speaking from wicked bad experience. Neptune/Venus contacts are like the absinthe of planetary energy in synastry. They’re GREAT! Sweet, honey-dripping paradise. But inevitably, and it is inevitable–you wake up. And usually this involves a slamming-hard realization about your own disconnect. Think Heathcliff and Cathy. Throw in a little Pluto and you’ve got Sid and Nancy. Ghost lovers suck. Literally. The Life out of you. Don’t mean to sound so harsh. I love the creativity and romance for Life that emerges in Neptune synastry. But the darker layers can be costly.

  5. Don’t mean to sound so harsh. I love the creativity and romance for Life that emerges in Neptune synastry. But the darker layers can be costly.{{{Kathryn!!}}} so good to hear your “voice” here . . . and know I am in complete agreement with everything you said here. working with Neptune in creative manner with good results requires great care . . . 🙂

  6. Hello Neith!Your blog is a wonderland! I’ve had a blast reading your excellent entries and the tarot art is beautiful! Thanks for letting me chime in!

  7. Ah, I have Neptune on the Asc and on my Sun. I think in the past it set me up to be a scape goat for people. Now that Pluto showed up I don’t see that anymore. I think Neptune can be fun, some days I say to myself I wanna feel sexy, glamorous or mysterious… and I think Neptune says ” No problem” you can project anything you want.The lesson is remembering that it’s just an image and to really know who resides behind the mask.

  8. Your blog is a wonderland! I’ve had a blast reading your excellent entries and the tarot art is beautiful! Thanks for letting me chime in!Anytime, Kathryn, anytime!! 🙂

  9. Ah, I have Neptune on the Asc and on my Sun. I think in the past it set me up to be a scape goat for people. Now that Pluto showed up I don’t see that anymore. I think Neptune can be fun, some days I say to myself I wanna feel sexy, glamorous or mysterious… and I think Neptune says ” No problem” you can project anything you want.The lesson is remembering that it’s just an image and to really know who resides behind the mask.You have nailed this one, Janelle. I’m sure figuring out how this worked had very painful moments . . . way to GO!!! 😀

  10. With all the Neptune aspects I have in my puzzling friendship, I decided to take your advice and ask a third party what she thought was going on. Her response was essentially: “Beats the hell out of me.”Oh well.Neptune’s transiting my midheaven right now. Do you suppose I’ll have a better idea what the heck is going on when he moves on? *crosses fingers*

  11. Neptune’s transiting my midheaven right now. Do you suppose I’ll have a better idea what the heck is going on when he moves on? *crosses fingers*Yes, it should. Lots of time we figure what was going with Neptune after the fact. We do the best we can to avoid the obvious pitfalls. Of course, there is always the possibility what’s happening needs to happen for our “growth” (I really have serious questions about that rational . . .) Good Luck!!

  12. hello Neith!!!I have neptune in my five house, and a strong square sun-neptune..I,m a very romantic person..but…sometimes to be romantic signifies to have a lot of disappointments… I think it is neptune..Aurora

  13. I have neptune in my five house, and a strong square sun-neptune..I,m a very romantic person..but…sometimes to be romantic signifies to have a lot of disappointments… I think it is neptune..Hello Aurora! Yes, I agree with what you say. However, it also seems like you are aware of how Neptune is at work in your chart and that’s half the battle. If you meet someone you are drawn to, get their birth data and look for Saturn aspects between your charts . . . 🙂 The best of all possible scenarios is having a partner who enjoys the romance yet is also going to be there for you!

  14. thanks for your advice,Neith!now,I`m reading about saturn-“Saturno. Un nuevo enfoque a un viejo diablo” de Liz Greene- : )a question:in your opinion,Neith, which is the best book on synastry????

  15. How about Venus opposite partner’s Neptune?What is the crucial issue? Neptune’s intentional deceipt or Venus’ overidealisation? And if there’s a double whammy, i.e. a Venus – Neptune conjunction? And if these planets oppose right at the Asc-Desc Axis (1st-7th house cusp ???***And if partner A Neptune conjuncts with his Saturn?Thanks a zillion!

  16. How about Venus opposite partner’s Neptune?What is the crucial issue? Neptune’s intentional deceipt or Venus’ overidealisation? And if there’s a double whammy, i.e. a Venus – Neptune conjunction? And if these planets oppose right at the Asc-Desc Axis (1st-7th house cusp ???That’s a LOT of Neptune! If you are asking these questions of yourself I suspect you may be able to sort out what’s a projection/expectation and what’s real. Neptune brings romance, empathy and a feeling of flying high on Love but he can also bring a nasty hangover too. If you both have strong natal Saturn aspects to your Sun, Moon & Venus in particular, you may be less susceptible to Neptune’s worst flights of fancy. It’s about finding a balance in the long run.And if partner A Neptune conjuncts with his Saturn?Synastry aspects between the outer planets are very much influenced by the aspects the outer planets make to personal planets/Angles. If his Saturn sits on his DES, then yes, it’s important! 😀

  17. RE : NEPTUNE – VENUS DOUBLE-WHAMMY. Congratulations for the brilliant analysis and helpful comments. WHAT IF THE DOUBLE WHAMMY CONTAINS ONE POSITIVE ASPECT, I.E. CONJUNCTION AND ONE CHALLENGING ASPECT, I.E. OPPOSITION ? THANKS XXX

  18. WHAT IF THE DOUBLE WHAMMY CONTAINS ONE POSITIVE ASPECT, I.E. CONJUNCTION AND ONE CHALLENGING ASPECT, I.E. OPPOSITION ? If you translate opposition into “complement” (because the signs are always in compatible elements)then it’s possible to see this in a more positive light. Yes, Neptune always provides us with opportunities to delude ourselves but for the most part, it’s squares and inconjuncts holding the greatest potential for a negative manifestation!

  19. Hello Neith—Can you give a quickie hit on what exactly an inconjunct is?Hi Kathryn!Briefly an inconjunct is formed with the signs on either side of an opposition. Aries is inconjunct Virgo & Scorpio.here’s a link to a post I did on inconjuncts in synastry. It’s part of the group of posts I copied to new website [better organized]The inconjunct in synastry

Leave a Reply

