Observations: On Saturn Cycles & Transitions

One of my uncle’s amazing water color Christmas cards

© Alton Knoke

Most everyone is familiar with Saturn Returns when Saturn returns to its starting degree in our natal charts. This trip takes roughly 29 years. Along the way Saturn will make a series of aspects to natal Saturn and the most important of those are the squares and opposition. It is approximately seven years between each major aspect. I am now going into the first of three passes of Saturn in Scorpio squaring my natal Saturn in Leo.

Saturn to Saturn transits mark cycles in our lives and as such are very interesting to follow. If your natal Saturn aspects your personal planets as mine does, those cycles can be easier to see. My Saturn is sextile my eleventh house Moon and I have noticed my circle of friends tends to ebb and flow with these transits. Saturn is also square my Sun and probably why my parents pounded good work ethics into my head growing up. Those of us with major Saturn aspects to personal planets often learn early lessons in responsibility thus making Saturn transits more manageable and less of a shock when we start crossing those milestones in our twenties and thirties.

In 1999-2000 Saturn in Taurus was squaring my Saturn in Leo and I went back to work as an executive secretary/office manager. For the next seven years, I was very visible and got together with a couple of my women friends every week for lunch. Around the time of my second Saturn Return in July 2006 I started blogging on astrology, setting the stage for the next Saturn cycle. When I left my day job in 2007, I started devoted more and more time to astrology and developing my online presence. Saturn transited over my Midheaven and tenth house during those years and consequently I worked harder than ever! In January 2010 I set up this website and have watched my traffic slowly but steadily grow along with my client base. “Slowly” is one of Saturn’s keywords as is laying a solid foundation to build upon.

A week ago Saturn in Scorpio conjoined my natal Jupiter (which squares my natal Saturn). Turns out the week Saturn was sitting on my Jupiter was one of my best yet as to income. When I read the interpretation on Astrodienst, it said “a change in financial status, often for the worse”. The last time Saturn was conjunction my Jupiter years ago, my income was pretty decent too. However, in both instances I was following Jupiter in the twelfth house guidelines by working in a library (institution) and focusing on service to others with my astrology.

Naturally I have some suggestions for handling Saturn to Saturn transits with some grace. 😀 Those include behave responsibly, prepare for an extended period of delayed gratification and don’t quit your day job no matter how tempting that may be. The house Saturn is transiting and other planets being triggered can provide clues to the area of your life being brought up for review. Make Saturn your friend now . . . he really is you know.

33 responses to “Observations: On Saturn Cycles & Transitions

    • Hi Debbie!
      What are your thoughts on Uranus conjoining natal Saturn.

      Hmmmmm – what happened when tSaturn conj your natal Uranus in Sept 2009? Similar exchange. The first pass of this current Uranus-Saturn transit happened last June as part of the first exact Uranus-Pluto square. This is a followup sans Pluto . . . maybe not quite so drastic in effect.

      xoxoxo diane~

  1. What a beautiful postcard! I love watercolors.

    “Those of us with major Saturn aspects to personal planets often learn early lessons in responsibility thus making Saturn transits more manageable and less of a shock when we start crossing those milestones in our twenties and thirties.”

    Not sure about major Saturn aspects (well, there is a natal one that I know about– shh)… but this sentence really speaks to earlier times in my life. I guess it’s why a lot of things slide off my shoulders now…

    Wouldn’t have it any other way though :)!

    XOXO

    • Not sure about major Saturn aspects (well, there is a natal one that I know about– shh)… but this sentence really speaks to earlier times in my life. I guess it’s why a lot of things slide off my shoulders now…

      Good for you! It’s a much saner place to be in . . . not to mention far less stressful! 😛

      xoxoxo diane~

  2. Hi!

    Im just past Saturn on Libra stellium of personal planets. Now Saturn sits with Neptune -late Libra Moon and ScorpioNeptune /Jupiter/ASC.Severe bouts of bleakness. Also very detached with parenting- defeatism, indifference etc. oddly more confidence in work and less social anxiety. Mucho resentment regarding imbalances in power, responsibilities, subservience to friends and family, and finances. Bumpy ride! LOL!

    • Hi there!
      Im just past Saturn on Libra stellium of personal planets. Now Saturn sits with Neptune -late Libra Moon and ScorpioNeptune /Jupiter/ASC.Severe bouts of bleakness.

      If Saturn is conjoining your Neptune, bouts of bleakness are often part of the process. Sometimes I think Saturn’s job is to force us to review our lives and make necessary adjustments. Hey, I like Saturn’s rules a whole lot better than Pluto’s! 🙂

      xoxoxo diane~

  3. Wow! What a gorgeous postcard. I love watercolour but have no clue how to do it. Saturn, Saturn, Saturn! However do we love thee? I am somewhat done with his presence, and hope your next conjunction is a pleasant one 🙂 He does seem to be like a fine wine, better with age, and kinder the more you show you have learned his lessons. But he is still, a bit of a sour-faced house guest when he doesn’t get his way.

    • Hey Pixie! 😀
      He does seem to be like a fine wine, better with age, and kinder the more you show you have learned his lessons. But he is still, a bit of a sour-faced house guest when he doesn’t get his way.

      All true! Even though I tend to believe he gets a bad rap, Venus & Jupiter are usually much more fun to have hanging around. *grin*

      xoxoxo diane~

  4. I adore your writing and look forward to your FB posts..but is there any way to stop the snow from falling on your webpage? It bothers my eyes when it goes through the letters and makes it hard to read. Thank you =)

  5. Hello Diane,

    What a lovely pic!

    Saturn’s just 10 deg away from my Natal Neptune in Scorp in 5th house and getting closer. He’s also about to natally trine himself and my Sun, naughty boy.

    The Miserable Owd Git has just moved off my Moon/Mars in Libra 4th house too (house move).

    I am thinking wild fantasies of fame with my jazz trombone playing; the fact that I haven’t got a trombone, and have never played one apart from when I was 11 in a duo with my school friend Hilda, (the lips) Trumpet, hasn’t put me off.

    • Welcome Jules!

      The Miserable Owd Git has just moved off my Moon/Mars in Libra 4th house too (house move).

      You have my sympathies . . . moving is way down on my list of favorite ways to spend my time. My MIL at 80+ has moved many, many times & is considering another one.

      I am thinking wild fantasies of fame with my jazz trombone playing; the fact that I haven’t got a trombone, and have never played one apart from when I was 11 in a duo with my school friend Hilda, (the lips) Trumpet, hasn’t put me off.

      ROFL!!!! Perfect!

      xoxo diane~

  6. I Liked the snow, but hey I am a Capricorn 😉 Love the postcard too, although the bare trees are a bit gloomy… is your uncle a Saturn man? About my own Saturn, being attacked by Mars but you already know. Transiting Saturn halfway through my eighth house and just passed natal Uranus/squaring my Asc. I am used to restrictions, but this is a bit too much. Don’t know what it means, Saturn through my eighth house, but it seems like a lot of loss, letting go and tears, loneliness. Together with Uranus transiting my 2nd house, I guess it looks like a lot of transformation and standing up for myself or lessons about selfworth. Not so easy all by yourself, but that’s what Saturn is about. Doing it on your own and learning to enjoy it. It could end up so satisfactory, it’s hard to get used to people again… 🙂

    • Hi Brex!

      Saturn through my eighth house, but it seems like a lot of loss, letting go and tears, loneliness. Together with Uranus transiting my 2nd house, I guess it looks like a lot of transformation and standing up for myself or lessons about self worth. Not so easy all by yourself, but that’s what Saturn is about. Doing it on your own and learning to enjoy it. It could end up so satisfactory, it’s hard to get used to people again… 🙂

      If you’re a Cappy, you have a Solar Return happening soon. Have you checked it out? 🙂
      One thing Uranus can do is help us stand up for ourselves, especially if we tend to put others needs before our own.

      My uncle did have a tight Mercury-Saturn square as well as Neptune sextile his Sun. He was a wonderful artist and a very funny guy though he & my aunt were both functioning alcoholics.

      xoxoxo diane~

  7. My transiting Saturn in 12th house Scorpio is trining 8th house Uranus. At the same time, 7th house transiting Jupiter is also trining Uranus. Is this a clash of wills or one balancing out the other? The 7-8-12 houses has me worried.

    • Hi Linda,

      My transiting Saturn in 12th house Scorpio is trining 8th house Uranus. At the same time, 7th house transiting Jupiter is also trining Uranus. Is this a clash of wills or one balancing out the other? The 7-8-12 houses has me worried.

      Saturn in Scorpio trine your natal Uranus is more helpful than not because it steadies your natal Uranus-Mercury square. Jupiter in Gemini transiting your seventh house was trine your natal Neptune (very benign) a few weeks back & square your natal Saturn. Generally Jupiter in Gemini’s transit will be positive for you. No worries!! 😀

      xoxo diane~

      p.s. I did get your email w/your chart data but my response didn’t get thru . . . thanks for sharing it with me. 😀

  8. this postcard is beautiful indeed!!
    Nice to know we share the Leo Saturn placement!
    After reading this l realized that around the 7 years saturn to saturn transit l have always started new projects/a new life which flourished 2 years later mostly.

    Again l have started a new project (l’m a Gemini Sun/Jupiter/MC)the seeds have been planted this year! not many results yet but l should have patience!:)
    l’m ready for Scorpio Saturn!! it also feels much better transiting my 3rd house 🙂 it will conjunct my natal Moon later on and oppose natal Mercury!
    Exciting!
    nice post! all the best!Joan

    • Hi Joan!

      After reading this l realized that around the 7 years saturn to saturn transit l have always started new projects/a new life which flourished 2 years later mostly.

      Have you noticed if the two year cycle corresponded in any way to the time Saturn spent in each sign? I had a pattern for many years of 2 to 2 1/2 yr relationships.

      l’m ready for Scorpio Saturn!! it also feels much better transiting my 3rd house 🙂 it will conjunct my natal Moon later on and oppose natal Mercury!

      Good! Nice to know someone is finding this Saturn easier to live with. 😀

      xoxoxo diane~

  9. Well, as Mars bangs on my Moon, kicking off my t-square that has been pounded by Saturn this last few years, with Mars being the traditional ruler of Saturn and all – I have come to the personal revelation that I am either married and doing that role, or I am single. Don’t get me wrong, my husband is lovely, but…….My realization is that even my generation is still under the sexism act of the year 1200 BC, and that regardless of even my independence and insistence on equality in my home and life, to achieve what I am more than capable of achieving with my intelligence, skills and studies etc etc, I have to either spend half my wage hiring people to do what no one else can be bothered doing, or I get sick. Simple as that! Thankfully, being an only child, I always have a million and one things to do, so boredom and resentment aren’t my thing. I can simply morph into the next activity. But feeling guilty over these activities being fun has been my downfall the last few years. I am silly that way, too much Saturn. It is really no surprise that Mars is bringing in the Saturn realizations out fairly quickly, which is exciting actually, considering Saturn is only a few degrees of a conjunction to my MC, and not too far off a square to Venus. That will be an interesting square, and I am interested to see where it takes me creatively.

    Anyway, I hope the pre-historic sexist act is easier for my daughter, if she decides to settle down and that I can take these lessons and help her, and my sons too, along the way.

    • {{{{Pixie}}}}}

      My realization is that even my generation is still under the sexism act of the year 1200 BC, and that regardless of even my independence and insistence on equality in my home and life, to achieve what I am more than capable of achieving with my intelligence, skills and studies etc etc, I have to either spend half my wage hiring people to do what no one else can be bothered doing, or I get sick. Simple as that!

      Sometimes I feel it is our own rules & expectations we have of ourselves as a married person that are the hardest to live with. *sigh* It’s darn hard to throw off the internal voices at times. I do see a marked change in how both my step-daughters handle their marriages & homes, so there is hope!

      It is really no surprise that Mars is bringing in the Saturn realizations out fairly quickly, which is exciting actually, considering Saturn is only a few degrees of a conjunction to my MC, and not too far off a square to Venus.

      heh, Mars in Cappy will be squaring your nMars too and heads will roll! Saturn crossing the MC is always major and usually means plenty of hard work w/little immediate reward. However it is very good for setting a course and sticking with it.

      xoxoxoxoxo diane~

      • Saturn crossing the MC is always major and usually means plenty of hard work w/little immediate reward. However it is very good for setting a course and sticking with it.

        well, I am used to ^^^^^ that without Saturn lol, except I generally get little reward, so hopefully he will turn that around for me. But it is good energy for my next home project none the less. I am feng shui’ing us up the whazoo in 2013, see how I go with 5 people in a 2.5 bedroom house with the worlds smallest budget lol (dining room makes it a 3.5 bedroom house) so we shall see what we shall see. I love feng shui, works in so well with all of my studies and pushes up from the psych. Much better for my NN.

        Mars in Cappy will be squaring your nMars too and heads will roll

        Hmmmm I hope not as I have said my piece and I hope it evolves more productively than dramatically. Over arguments and such 😦

        • Hey Pixie!

          I am feng shui’ing us up the whazoo in 2013, see how I go with 5 people in a 2.5 bedroom house with the worlds smallest budget lol (dining room makes it a 3.5 bedroom house) so we shall see what we shall see. I love feng shui, works in so well with all of my studies and pushes up from the psych. Much better for my NN.

          Feng shui is a fascinating study! I know just enough to appreciate it but not enough to do something like you’re planning. Do you have a favorite book on the subject? 🙂

          Hmmmm I hope not as I have said my piece and I hope it evolves more productively than dramatically. Over arguments and such 😦

          As someone who really truly dislikes arguments too, I wish you the best possible outcome under this transit. 😛

          xoxoxoxo diane~

  10. Hi Diane,

    ‘Have you noticed if the two year cycle corresponded in any way to the time Saturn spent in each sign? I had a pattern for many years of 2 to 2 1/2 yr relationships.’
    It’s very posible it did l haven’t checked that. l just know that my projects took off slowly.
    l have noticed how my life changed when my progressed moon changed, but that is another 2, 2/2 year story…
    and yes l very much enjoy Scorpio Saturn l feel like l have been sleeping for 2,5 years and l am waking up ready to live again, no doubt, no fear!
    it’s an amazing shift. Saturn in Libra opposed my natal Venus&Mars in Aries most of last year so all this shifts are amazing!
    l didn’t know how much influence it had while it happened but l do now!:)
    Joan

    • Hey Joan!
      Saturn in Libra opposed my natal Venus&Mars in Aries most of last year so all this shifts are amazing!
      l didn’t know how much influence it had while it happened but l do now!:)

      Saturn can kinda creep up on us gradually weighing us down . . . unlike Uranus who comes in with a bang! 🙂

      xoxoxo diane~

    • Hi Moon!

      I hadn’t really looked at the effect it had on the text . . . just how it looked falling over the images. Thanks for the feedback!

      xoxo diane~

  11. Diane,

    You are the BEST! Thanks for the data. I hope Jupiter in Gemininwill work well for me in the coming months as I am looking for a new job and will be making new contacts. You have been great for me during a very difficult move and personal transition. Thank you, lovely Libra.

Leave a Reply

