Full Moon in Leo, January 26, 2013

Full Moon in Leo© Diane Lang

The Full Moon at 07° 24′ Leo on 26 January 2013, 08:39 PM PST is all fired up and ready to rock ‘n roll! Both the Sun and Moon are part of a Cradle aspect pattern with Jupiter in Gemini and Uranus in Aries. All of these planets are in fire and air signs and whilst amazing for inspiring brilliant theories, those may not translate well into practical applications. In other words, this pattern can lead to a lot of hot air!

Leo Full Moons are generally a good time to delight in the attentions of those who love us. The warmth and good humor of this Moon is enhanced by the sextile to expansive Jupiter in Gemini, making it a wonderful time to throw a party just for the heck of it. If you live in the cold northern latitudes, bring out plenty of candles or light a fire in the fireplace and bask in the heat.

This is also a good time to reflect on the paradox of Aquarius, enhanced by a sextile from the Aquarius Sun to its ruler, Uranus. Aquarius has a unique ability to hold conflicting opinions in their minds without those eating away at their sanity. An example is the extreme need for personal autonomy they deem necessary for themselves whilst promoting ideas that benefit the greatest number of people within the collective. Believe me, living in a country with an Aquarius Moon can cause one’s head to spin at times. Americans may choose to fight to the death over personal freedoms whilst demanding no one touch their favorite social programs.

Jupiter is at a virtual standstill, preparing to station direct on 31 January, and is more than ready to move ahead at full speed. It is aided and abetted in the need for speed by Uranus in Aries. Neither of these is all that interested in checking those pesky details to see if their plans are feasible before launching them. Those who have personal planets from 5° to 7° in the fire and air signs will feel the urge to take action most strongly.

Meanwhile Saturn in Scorpio squares Mercury in Aquarius and forms a wide T-Square with the lunar axis and will very likely block quite a few of those brilliant schemes and ideas with demands for fiscal accountability. Saturn is also still sextile Pluto in Capricorn, so he had some serious backing for his pragmatic approach. Best way to assure success for anything you may have planned is to take the time to incorporate practical ideas and solutions from the very beginning. Be prepared to put in long hours of hard work too.

Love and romance are not likely to be on the forefront of people’s minds right now with Venus in reserved Capricorn semi-sextile Mars in eccentric Aquarius. This is an awkward pair with little in common and not much desire to change that. Attend to other concerns for now.

Neptune in Pisces is wandering around all on his own in the background . . . don’t worry; he’ll emerge to bug us again when Mars moves into Pisces on 2 February and conjoins him.

For those who can fuse the brilliance, drive and enthusiasm of the fire and air side of this Full Moon in Leo with the pragmatism of the earth and water side may potentially exceed their wildest dreams. If all you wish to do is have a good time celebrating the Full Moon with friends, that’s good too. Do practice tolerance, kindness and patience through it all . . . fixed signs dominate right now and people may not be feeling too reasonable.

On a personal note: This one is a mixed blessing for me . . . the Moon in Leo conjoins my natal Saturn and forms a T-Square with my natal twelfth house Jupiter in Scorpio whilst the Jupiter-Uranus sextile of the Basket Pattern acts as the base of a Yod with my Jupiter at the apex. Sounds like reality check time to me. Gah.

On the plus side is a great sextile from Venus in Capricorn transiting my second house to natal Mercury in Scorpio. This transit ought to help both my writing and hopefully, my income! Now Mars in Aquarius is a little of both because it squares my Ascendant and is trine my Chiron-Sun in Libra. Guess I need to take my own advice about being stubborn, eh?

15 responses to “Full Moon in Leo, January 26, 2013

  1. For a 7th house full moon It aspects my saturn 3rd, chiron 2nd, and jupiter 8th that all all between 6 and 8 degrees and my ascendant. I don’t know why but saturn seems to remind me of a grumpy old man telling me what to do. Well frankly grumpy bear I’ve done my homework so I’m ending my contract with you.
    Good luck Diane! x

    • Hey Kaz!
      I don’t know why but saturn seems to remind me of a grumpy old man telling me what to do. Well frankly grumpy bear I’ve done my homework so I’m ending my contract with you.

      LOL! Is Saturn in Scorp in your 10th? Squaring the lunar axis in your 1st-7th? That would account for you feeling like some grumpy old man is telling you what to do & you wanting to push back. 😀

      xoxoxoxo diane~

      • Saturn’s within 3 degrees of my 10th house (22/08/69) and then the stinker is going retro grade lol. I gotta wait till nov for the 10th house! booo I’m appeasing him by starting a maths and science University course whilst also looking for work, I mean what else does he need? 🙂

        • Hey Kaz!
          I’m appeasing him by starting a maths and science University course whilst also looking for work, I mean what else does he need? 🙂

          Maths & science course?! Serious, indeed! 😀

          xoxoxo diane~

  2. I should be expecting a weekend of surprises. This full moon makes a direct conjunction with my natal moon 10th/Aquarius opposed to Uranus 4th/Leo. With Jupiter squaring my Mercury, I will attempt to avoid the faux pas that occurred a couple of weeks past. Although with all of the Uranus input that more likely easier said than done. I will apologize before hand just in case anything accidently slips out before being thought through thoroughly.

    • Hi William!
      With Jupiter squaring my Mercury, I will attempt to avoid the faux pas that occurred a couple of weeks past. Although with all of the Uranus input that more likely easier said than done. I will apologize before hand just in case anything accidentally slips out before being thought through thoroughly.

      LOL! Jupiter in Gemini is currently at a standstill before his station next week, so he’s a little grumpy these days. Hope you are having a good time this weekend & if you do have unexpected company, it turns out well.

      xoxoxo diane~

    • Hi Rossa! 😀

      I love spaceweather.com. They have the most amazing photos, don’t they? 🙂 Whilst I have absolutely no desire to live far enough north to view the northern lights, they sure are beautiful!

      xoxoxo diane~

    • Welcome Jilly!
      this is on my part of fortune – hope it’s lucky 🙂

      Should be with favorable Jupiter & Uranus aspects to the Leo Moon!

      xoxo diane~

  3. I just realized this morning how much this one has me written into it. On the one hand, there is a grand mutable square between Jupiter in Gemini/1st, Natal Sun in Virgo/5th house, Saturn in Sagittarius/7th, Neptune in Pisces/11th with an opposition to Pluto in Virgo/4th. Then there is a Grand Trine as well if I read my chart correctly in Air between Jupiter in Gemini/1st, Natal Jupiter in Libra/5th, and the Sun in Aquarius/10th with an opposition to Natal Uranus conjunction the Moon in the 4th. Transiting Saturn also is conjunct my North node activating the T-square between my natal North node, Moon, and Uranus. There is alot of energy being thrown my way to do something with myself. Change is heading my way, and I may be motivated to actually do something about it.

    • Hi William!

      Change is heading my way, and I may be motivated to actually do something about it.

      It’s the “doing something about it” I have trouble with too unless there is a major cardinal push with lots of fire sign action going on. 🙂

      xoxoxo diane~

  4. Ugh. Not a good Full Moon, despite being in my own Moon sign. Saturn transiting my pSun plus pMoon approaching my natal Uranus (and probably the Neptune transit) is not a good combo. Have been fighting depression, somewhat intermittently, in no small part from sleep interference. Just waiting for Saturn to retrograde at least. Also work has been very slow, which is worrying. I guess it will all pass…

    • Hey Les!
      Have been fighting depression, somewhat intermittently, in no small part from sleep interference. Just waiting for Saturn to retrograde at least. Also work has been very slow, which is worrying. I guess it will all pass…

      {{{{{Les}}}}}} Jupiter stationing direct may signal the tide is turning though it may take awhile for visible results. Uranus in your 9th sextile Jupiter in your 10th in February & part of March is promising. Saturn is now at its station degree of 11° Scorpio anyways. *fingers crossed* for improving conditions! 😛

      Longer days & more daylight will help too.

      xoxoxoxoxo diane~

      • Thanks, Diane. I’ve been watching that Jupiter. Would be happy to see him move into my 11th house as well – freelance life gets very lonely. He’ll also sextile my Leo Ascendant/Moon, which might boost my social life, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

