Observations: Neptune on My Mind

Reflections © Born | Dreamstime.com

I was going to write about something else until Neptune rolled my mind. He is currently part way through a twenty plus year transit in my third house and is making an exact square to my first house Venus again. You’d think I’d be used what he can do by now but truthfully, I’m not. Gah.

Most of the time this transit is not a problem but when Neptune makes an exact aspect to one of my natal personal planets or Angles, then I remember what a pain in the backside it is. My ability to stay focused goes south and my thoughts drift all over the place. If I don’t act on something as it crosses my mind, I’m in trouble!

Is there an upside to this transit? In fact there is. I have noticed a distinct change in the way I process information for instance. Now it is easier than ever to dump data in and up pops the answer! Since my natal Mercury is on the twelfth house side of my Ascendant information tends to rise up out of the back of my mind as a matter of course. Neptune lazing through my third house has deepened this trend. Many times answers emerge on the cusp of waking and drifting off to sleep . . . and almost every time it is good information. Creative solutions to artistic projects definitely emerge this way.

Now I don’t consider myself psychic in the usual sense at all. I don’t pluck information out of thin air or have visions. What has changed is the way I process the data already there. All those years of studying charts, talking to people about their charts and reading many, many books on astrology is now paying off by providing me with a rich source of information. My mind makes connections holistically and THEN I have to go back and figure out how I reached those conclusions. Needing to sleep on it is no joke for me.

Unlike those who have Neptune in the third house natally like astrologer Donna Cunningham and astrologer Jeremy Neal, this transit does eventually come to an end. Neptune in Pisces will wander into my fourth house in 2017. By the way, the reason this transit has lasted so long is using Koch houses, Aquarius is intercepted in my third house . . . but that’s another story.

12 responses to “Observations: Neptune on My Mind

  1. I wonder about neptune, is there any good there?
    Natally for me it’s in scorpio 10th house. I admit to a lack of clarity over work. It’s currently transiting my 2nd FOREVER and that confusion over resources has lasted for around 10 years..or my wilderness years as I call them. I guess at some point neptune makes aspects to my 8th house pluto,mercury,sun,jupiter and uranus. Hmm now I’m more confused 🙂

    • Hi Kaz!
      Natally for me it’s in scorpio 10th house. I admit to a lack of clarity over work. It’s currently transiting my 2nd FOREVER and that confusion over resources has lasted for around 10 years..or my wilderness years as I call them.

      Neptune in the 10th is supposed to be good for careers in the Arts, Film industry, etc. It seems to affect people most in public venues and least by those closest to them. For example, bloggers w/10th Neptunes tend to attract really nasty trolls who accuse them of things they’ve never done or have nothing to do with the real person. Weird . . . 😦

      Neptune won’t reach the last decant in Pisces for about 9 years or so. As I’ve mentioned before, I only tend to really notice Neptune transits thru a house when it aspects a natal planet, particularly a personal planet. Neptune transits to the outer planets (Saturn, Uranus, Neptune & Pluto) go right over my head. LOL

      xoxoxo diane~

  2. Oh right, I forgot your Venus is exactly square mine. We can both enjoy the Neptune-to-Venus fun for the rest of the year! Natally, Neptune is at the end of my 3rd house, and sextile Mercury. Still, his transit (now over – yay!) opposite Mercury was challenging to stay focused. Natal Neptune is more exactly sextile my Venus/Pluto at 2 Virgo – we’ll see if that natal aspect helps me at all!

    • Hi Les!
      Still, his transit (now over – yay!) opposite Mercury was challenging to stay focused. Natal Neptune is more exactly sextile my Venus/Pluto at 2 Virgo – we’ll see if that natal aspect helps me at all!

      Yay is right for seeing the last of a Neptune-Mercury transit! I suppose it’s possible tNeptune triggering your natal Neptune sextile to Venus/Pluto could increase your interest in all manner of creativity. Maybe you could start reviewing films or restaurants. 🙂

      xoxoxoxo diane~

  3. I agree with Kaz, “Neptune, is there any good there?” This is the one planet I admit, in the past, I paid little attention to; natally it is in my 11th house Libra and right now transiting my 4th house.Due to my own irresponsibility, it wreaked havoc when transiting my 2nd as I have natal Jupiter in 2nd house Cappy. You can imagine the bills I acquired for things I really didn’t need. It taught me a lesson and I was careful during the 3rd house transit and more so as it visits 4th house Pluto. To add to the suspense, my husband has 1st house Neptune Rx in Scorpio natally. Saturn is unpleasent but you learn to deal with it, Neptune is well,like my cats trying to catch water when the faucet is turned on.

    • Hi Linda!

      it wreaked havoc when transiting my 2nd as I have natal Jupiter in 2nd house Cappy. You can imagine the bills I acquired for things I really didn’t need. It taught me a lesson and I was careful during the 3rd house transit and more so as it visits 4th house

      Oh yes . . . Jupiter in Cappy does like very high quality things too. 🙂 Looks like the Mars-Neptune conj in Pisces will be very close to your IC this weekend. Probably will be a non-event because Neptune-Mars aspects can promise waaaaay more than they can deliver.

      Neptune is well,like my cats trying to catch water when the faucet is turned on.

      ROFL!! Perfect description! Love it! 😀

      xoxoxo diane~

  4. Any poetry swirling around you head dying to drop on paper or computer screen??
    Have you tried trans writing? ( or something like that:)
    Just asking

    • Hi Alden!

      Any poetry swirling around you head dying to drop on paper or computer screen??
      Have you tried trans writing? ( or something like that
      🙂 )

      A poet I am not . . . my creativity is more visual than verbal. 🙂 I do dream in technicolor and often when Neptune’s influence is strong, those dreams linger long after waking. Can’t say as I have ever tried trans writing though many years ago in my New Age phase I did attempt a little channeling. *shrug*

      xoxoxo diane~

  5. Neptune transits are my least favorite. They always cause a loss for me, but I don’t recognize the loss until it is too late! It’s like having a leaky pipe hidden away and you don’t realize it until you look at your water bill. It’s been opposition my Venus for months and is just now ending the transit and I have tons of bills thanks to multiple health problems (all infections, thanks Neptune).

    I do appreciate that it is transiting my 11th house though. One would say I’d have to watch out for being swindled by friends or groups (especially non-profits), but I’m very careful about those things anyway, so I’ve attracted lots of artsy, creative friends who make up the tighter knit inner circle of my town’s community! I’ve also been finding volunteering quite healing.

    Anyway, I think one never really gets used to what Neptune can do, since he’s of such non-material things and is a bit of a chameleon. You get to where you think you know Neptune, and then he goes, “Nope,” and changes form again. A mirage can give you hope but it can also lead you to loss.

    • Welcome Maria!

      Anyway, I think one never really gets used to what Neptune can do, since he’s of such non-material things and is a bit of a chameleon. You get to where you think you know Neptune, and then he goes, “Nope,” and changes form again. A mirage can give you hope but it can also lead you to loss.

      Alas, I can’t help but agree with you though I know Neptune does have a good side but it does seem to come only when doing things like applying compassion to the many. It’s as if Neptune’s promises of hope and caring are best seen from a very high perspective. On the individual level it seems all too easy to fall into his illusions.

      xoxo diane~

  6. Natal Neptune in 1 here (Libra Asc.), so I know from Neptune, so to speak.
    Concerning the Neptune transit of my Third House: It started in the early 1970’s and ran through the early 1990’s. It was a creative time for me (art school, started drawing & painting) and the time my very pronounced psychic abilities started showing up. It was also a time of knowing many unusual people including some I would have been better off not knowing, such as alcoholics and druggies. Since Neptune left my 3rd,I have never had close acquaintance with such drunks or druggies.
    When Neptune hung my IC, every place I lived had a leaky roof! Since Pluto started hanging my IC, the water pipes and plumbing at my condo have been shut off more than 16 times. When Uranus was on my IC, I was fragged by lightning and I started evidencing Poltergeist phenomenon!

    • Welcome MEL0810!

      Wow, you’ve had some interesting times! When Uranus transited my IC, we ended up w/200+ gallons of fuel oil in our basement, a truly hellish experience. Took a week or so & having a pro cleaning crew come in to make the house liveable again. I have Pisces on the IC natally & was either moving frequently or living in a house with nary a level floor in the place. I am happiest living near water too . . . just not leaking in thru the roof. LOL

      xoxo diane~

Leave a Reply

