New Moon in Aquarius, February 9, 2013

Mist rising from the water © Smalysh | Dreamstime.com

For better or worse, the paradox that is Aquarius is very apparent on the New Moon at 21° 43′ Aquarius, 09 February 2013, 11:21 PM PST. The New Moon makes no aspects to the other planets, sailing along alone and unfettered . . . just as detached Aquarius likes it. Otherwise the planets in air and those in water are fighting it out, creating plenty of angst and confusion.

Aquarius is the sign of the “big picture” and is perfectly capable of holding opposing points of view in their minds at any given moment. For some reason, Aquarius seldom acknowledges suffering from the cognitive dissonance that can plague us lesser mortals when attempting to resolve ideological differences. We need those with this ability to help steer the collective to a place that serves the greatest good for the many.

One of the basic areas of disagreement between air and water often revolves water seeing air as detached and uncaring whilst air sees water as too emotionally involved to be unbiased. As much as both hate to admit it, they need each other very much in order to effectively help those in need, it is just harder for these two elements to find common ground without a great deal fuss and bother. Usually what we get when we combine air and water is fog, hiding the landscape and adding to the confusion.

On the water side of things are Mars, Mercury and Chiron conjoined in Pisces along with Saturn in Scorpio and Neptune in Pisces. Compassion and sensitivity to other people’s feelings are emphasized now. An intuitive approach to problem solving will work much better than using logic and reason.

On the air side is Venus in Aquarius and Jupiter in Gemini as well as the Sun and Moon in Aquarius. All of these placements favor viewing life through an intellectual lens – detached, curious and always open to trying something different.

Where we run into problems is Mars, Mercury and Chiron in Pisces square Jupiter in Gemini, creating a perfect storm of evasive words. Pisces rarely chooses to confront others directly and combined with Gemini’s talent for wordiness, we may end up with a situation where people prattle and dither and generally bury us in circular arguments. To make matters worse, Uranus in Aries is currently sextile to Jupiter, adding an element of unpredictability and brilliance. For those whose patience is already running thin, this could be frustrating to the extreme. If you have personal planets from 6° to 8° in the mutable signs (Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces), stay alert!

Taking all the fun out of love and romance is the square between Saturn in Scorpio and Venus in Aquarius. A couple of the issues that may surface to cause problems in relationships are money and jealousy, not enough of the first and too much of the second. Given this square is in fixed signs, finding a way to resolve these may be quite a challenge and things may get very ugly. Those most affected will have personal planets from 10° to 11° in the fixed signs (Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius).

Pluto in Capricorn is still sextile to Saturn in Scorpio and makes a wide sextile to Mercury-Mars in Pisces with an irritating semi-sextile to Venus in Aquarius. What this says to me is it be better to step back and reassess our relationships than push ahead. Expectations of all kinds can really interfere with the ability to see our beloved with any clarity right now.

There is an exact T-Square formed by the New Moon in Aquarius squaring the Scorpio North Node and the Taurus South Node. It is possible this pattern will illuminate and inspire discussions about our attachment to our possessions and the drive to acquire more. Do we really need expensive toys, huge homes or lavish vacations? If we were to prune our lives back to the essentials, what would those be?

A complex and challenging New Moon to be sure and we’ll likely need to practice patience and tolerance in all our interpersonal relationships . . . including the one with ourselves. Do we want to attempt to launch new enterprises now, or would it be better to hold off for awhile? It’s up to each of us to choose our own path. Please do so with care and kindness.

On a personal note: This is definitely a mixed bag New Moon for me. The New Moon squares my natal Mercury in Scorpio whilst trine the midpoint between my Libra Sun and Moon. Jupiter in Gemini sextile Uranus in Aries creates a Yod with my twelfth house Jupiter in Scorpio and Neptune continues to square my Venus. The last aspect got energized by both Mars and Mercury conjoining Neptune this past week causing a weird combination of lethargy and a busy mind.

With six planets in my third house, I imagine I’ll be concerned with my ability to express myself clearly first and foremost. Conversations with my siblings and near relatives will also be highlighted in the near future making my life a little more complicated I’m sure!

I rate this one as uncomfortable for me.

8 responses to “New Moon in Aquarius, February 9, 2013

  1. Diane,

    To make matters worse, Uranus in Aries is currently sextile to Jupiter, adding an element of unpredictability and brilliance. For those whose patience is already running thin, this could be frustrating to the extreme. If you have personal planets from 6° to 8° in the mutable signs (Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces), stay alert!

    How does this affect you and I with Venus in the first in Sag? My Venus is 8 degrees natally.

    • Hi Linda!

      How does this affect you and I with Venus in the first in Sag? My Venus is 8 degrees natally.

      Next week first Mercury, then Mars in Pisces will create a T-Square from your fourth House cusp with your Venus & Jupiter in Gemini. This sounds like too much of a good thing with family matters right in the middle. Your partner’s enthusiasms could overwhelm you. LOL

      My Venus at 2° Sag is out of orb . . . beside she is in enough trouble due to Neptune squaring her. 😛

      xoxoxo diane~

  2. Hmm, well this New Moon hits within 3&4 degrees of my Chiron/Descendant and opposing my Moon/Ascendant. This is an active area, with my pLunar Return coming up in 4 months. So maybe it will provide some hints as to how that will go. I’m realizing with pMoon hitting my Uranus just before Moon/Asc that selfhood and partnership was always a painful either/or proposition. I think this time around I’ve figured out there can be a balance to have both. Hoping that’s the 2nd Lunar Return maturity.

    Meanwhile, tNeptune is directly opposite my Venus/Pluto. I checked back and this Neptune transit was in place all last summer and my relationship life held well, so I’ll take that as a good sign, too!

    • Hey Les!

      I’m realizing with pMoon hitting my Uranus just before Moon/Asc that selfhood and partnership was always a painful either/or proposition. I think this time around I’ve figured out there can be a balance to have both. Hoping that’s the 2nd Lunar Return maturity.

      There HAS to be some benefits in this business of growing older! 🙂 Learning what we can & cannot live with happily is one of them.

      Meanwhile, tNeptune is directly opposite my Venus/Pluto. I checked back and this Neptune transit was in place all last summer and my relationship life held well, so I’ll take that as a good sign, too!

      Good! I do feel your natal Mercury/Venus/Pluto-Neptune sextile has something to do with your ability to navigate this transit. Thankfully most Neptune transits are a once in a lifetime deal. 😀

      xoxoxo diane~

  3. This new moon is happening in my 6th house, but really close to my 7th house cusp. I am looking forward to getting it bright in the sky! Every new moon is an opportunity, even if other aspects indicates tension, the chance to start again is a bless.

    • Welcome Luna!
      This new moon is happening in my 6th house, but really close to my 7th house cusp. I am looking forward to getting it bright in the sky! Every new moon is an opportunity, even if other aspects indicates tension, the chance to start again is a bless.

      So true. It is easy to get caught up with the drama of tense aspects & overlook the fresh possibilities each New Moon brings.

      xoxo diane~

  4. “Aquarius is the sign of the “big picture” and is perfectly capable of holding opposing points of view in their minds at any given moment.”

    *Lightbulb Moment* Now that captures my Aquarius MC perfectly. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

