Observations: Fictional Heroines reflecting Venus-Mars in Aries

Wheel of the Infinite coverart

Wheel of the Infinite cover art

I love reading books with a strong, intelligent female protagonist and usually the best ones are found in books with women authors. Venus and Mars traveling together in Aries, the sign of heroes, started me thinking about some of my favorite authors and their creations: Lois McMaster Bujold, Martha Wells and my latest discovery, Lindsay Buroker. Their heroines are often either Aries or Scorpio in nature.

Scorpio Lois McMaster Bujold tends to create heroines in the Scorpio mold . . . old enough to have been burned by life and love but still willing to carry on. Cordelia Naismith Vorkosigan from her Vorkosigan series is an excellent example and she first appears in Shards of Honor (Vorkosigan Saga). She is the captain of an exploratory vessel from a very egalitarian planet who collides with a career military man from a planet noted for its warrior caste society. The results are endlessly amusing and I see Cordelia as a mature Aries woman of great character with Scorpio overtones.

Another Bujold heroine I love is from the second book in her Chalion series, Paladin of Souls. Ista is a royal dowager, cursed with madness and manipulated by an untrustworthy god. She has been through hell and back, wishing only to left alone to figure out what to do next. I consider her the most Scorpio of all having undergone so many trials to reemerge transformed and finding an abiding love on the way. This one always brings tears to my eyes.

The female protagonist from Martha Wells’ book, Wheel of the Infinite, is an amazing woman. She is an itinerant ex-priestess in her forties who acquires a much younger warrior as a companion on the road to resolving a threat to the world they live in. Smart, tough and experienced I classify Maskelle as far more Scorpio than Aries because she is very pragmatic and driven by necessity.

I just recently found author, Lindsay Buroker, and her delightful heroine, Amaranthe, from her Emperor’s Edge series, the first ebook, The Emperor’s Edge is free. Amaranthe is far and away the most Aries! She is focused, determined, somewhat naïve and always pushes forward regardless of obstacles. In the beginning, Amaranthe is one of the few women law enforcers, another good Aries career choice. There are currently five books in the Emperor’s Edge series with two more to come. By the way, even though I don’t know Lindsay’s birthday I do know she served in the armed forces . . . very Aries!

Anyone else have a favorite Aries style heroine or two they love?

7 responses to “Observations: Fictional Heroines reflecting Venus-Mars in Aries

  1. I haven’t heard of any of the books you are talking about, but these days I find myself reading “The Celestine Prophecy” about 15 years too late 😉 Maybe it’s because Mercury is still in Pisces, I am almost finished and can’t wait for Mercury to enter Aries, although I am not really fond of Aries (I am a Capricorn, so it must be something square 😉

    • Hi Brex!

      Maybe it’s because Mercury is still in Pisces, I am almost finished and can’t wait for Mercury to enter Aries, although I am not really fond of Aries (I am a Capricorn, so it must be something square 😉

      Capricorn often finds Aries irritating because it is in such a RUSH. 🙂 No doubt Aries does energize Cappy though. If you’ve been putting things off, then all this Aries will encourage you to take care of your backlog.

      I admit with my 12th house Mercury I read to escape, always have. And I love speculative fiction. *shrug*

      xoxoxoxo diane~

    • I can see that. She has a certain innocence that’s typical of Aries plus quite a temper! 😀

      xoxoxxo diane~

      • plus that fairy blood works well with a dash of Venus! sigh, I am going to miss Sookie. I appreciate that all good things come to an end, but I am sad it will be her last book this year

  2. Cool! I’ve been a longtime Bujold fan. I got to meet her many years ago at a convention (we live in the same city, even) and she autographed a book for me and a note to a friend who had introduced me to the books. It doesn’t surprise me she’s a Scorpio. Such themes are heavy in all her books, and Miles is nothing if not a tenacious, cunning character who came back from the dead. One mark of a good writer is such smooth-flowing prose that I forget I’m reading and am carried along. She is one such writer, with just one “clunker” in the whole library (I tell new readers to avoid starting there). Her editor should have been jailed for allowing that one to see the light of day–jeez! I enjoyed Paladin of Souls as well. The Sharing Knife series was an interesting detour from her usual style, too. 🙂

  3. Funny, Diane! My Mercury is 3 degrees before the cusp of my 12th house, but I sure and definitely Read To Escape! Never thought of it that way!
    I don’t know what the problem is with me and Aries. I don’t mind quick talkers or rushy nervous people, I think I am one myself (because of Aquarius ascendant) maybe it’s more like jealousy of their courage or talents. Being the number One!
    Or maybe it’s my own Mars conjunct Neptune, maybe I just don’t get Aries, it slips out of my hands like water 😉

Leave a Reply

