Observations: Choosing a House System

zodiac-wheel

The most commonly used House systems are Placidus, Koch and Equal Houses. Personally I like Koch Houses for those of us born north of about 45°. Astrodienst uses Placidus Houses as their default – a strong recommendation and I have friends who swear by Equal Houses though I’m not too crazy about them myself.

Placidus and Koch agree on the Angular House cusps with shifts on the other house cusps. Equal Houses uses the degree of the Ascendant to determine all the other house cusps and has the Midheaven as a separate degree point.

Check to see what planets change houses when you switch systems to help figure out what feels most accurate to you. If you have a stellium including personal planets playing musical houses that is a good place to start. Using Koch and Equal Houses my Sun, Mercury and Mars are all in the twelfth house. Placidus places my Sun and Jupiter in the eleventh with my Moon. However, I feel far more like a twelfth house person than an eleventh type. I am content spending quite a lot of time by myself rather than needing to belong to this group or that organization. The twelfth house is one of the water houses and my preference for the intuitive approach is a good fit.

Do you have planets shifting back and forth between the first and second houses? People with a strong first house presence are almost always more forthright and active like Aries whilst second house types are more concerned with the practicalities and making sure they have a degree of financial security. The difference between second and third is third house types are far more social and intellectually inclined.

One obvious difference between a fourth and fifth house emphasis is how engaged you are with family matters. A fifth house type would rather make art or play than spend time with mom and dad. Sixth house types tend to be very involved in their vocation or are diligent about taking care of their health instead of having a good time.

Seventh house people love having a partner or companion around whilst eighth house people could care less. Lots of planets in the ninth could mean you are a perpetual student or love traveling . . . getting all caught up in personal angst, not so much. No question tenth house folk are high profile and enjoy it whilst eleventh house people like being one of the gang.

You can also carefully follow Mars as it moves around your chart to help determine where your house cusps are. Mars moves quickly and usually carries enough “punch” to make his presence felt.

Whatever house system works best for you is the right one. I’m also a big fan of keeping things simple and it is far too easy to over think astrological details. There are so many of them after all.

13 responses to “Observations: Choosing a House System

  1. Exploring the two house systems I am inclined to change from Placidus to Koch. This is because Pluto moves in Koch off of the cusp of the fifth house back into the fourth house. And, considering my childhood I am definitely a fourth house Pluto person. There was the loss of my mother due to a nervous breakdown shown by Uranus in the fourth, and subsequent abuse by a “friend” of my father who abandoned his children to live with a girlfriend.

  2. Looking at this again I really think I’m more 9th house planets then 8th. I did my chart on stariq website and I was mostly 9th house. I always have had the most voracious appetite for knowledge and travel funds permitting. Funds, hmmm can’t remember having much of them lately had to rely on other people. bugga that’s 8th house. I give up 🙂
    Thanks Diane x

    • Hey Kaz!

      I did my chart on stariq website and I was mostly 9th house. I always have had the most voracious appetite for knowledge and travel funds permitting.

      Do you feel the urge to travel more when the faster moving planets are transiting your 9th? Or in October? 😀

      No matter what ya got an 8th house Sun & a fixed Sun in the 8th does make for Scorpio overtones. Here’s another interesting pattern for you to contemplate . . . a Kite with Neptune trine Venus & your Nodal Axis. heh, heh, heh

      xoxoxoxoxo diane~

      • I definitely get the urge like a bird to migrate September/October. 8th house sun I’ve done death to death if you know what I mean. As for the kite jeez you’re a tease 🙂 . I think I should go into theatre to earn a living lol, someone’s behind the curtain for sure! xoxoxKaz

        • I unravel your Kite this way . . . Kite is like a bow & arrow with the smaller triangle as the bow & the opposition as the arrow. The arrow points to your NNode in Pisces which ties in w/your Neptune & 12th house Moon. Holistic thinking works for you as does quietly helping others. 😀

          xoxoxoxo diane~

  3. I use the Koch system, as it works best for me, but the matter of house cusps has concerned me for a number of years. I treat planets that go between houses depending on the house system as cusp planets and give consideration to both houses. Virtually all house systems except equal house yield the same angular houses (first, fourth, seventh, tenth), as you state. I am now tending to view charts by their quarters (first through third, fourth through sixth, etc), somewhat as a Chinese chart is divided into the four seasons, but westernized, which eliminates the need for the non-angular house definitions. There is a lot of similarity to the houses that comprise each quarter of a chart.

    • Welcome mike!

      I am now tending to view charts by their quarters (first through third, fourth through sixth, etc), somewhat as a Chinese chart is divided into the four seasons, but westernized, which eliminates the need for the non-angular house definitions. There is a lot of similarity to the houses that comprise each quarter of a chart.

      That works as long as the Angular Houses are given more weight. In a sense one could say the first quadrant relates to the 1st House, second to the 4th, third to the 7th & fourth to the 10th.

      I’m a big fan of K.I.S.S. because it keeps me from wasting endless hours scrutinizing detail after detail in charts, transits, etc. 😀

      xoxo diane~

  4. Hmmm. Something new to try! (I can’t find an option…from the many options…at Astrodienst for Koch, so will look into this later.) Just for fun, I would love to see my Sun out of interception. With life-long health/vitality/stamina problems, I just can’t seem to access the warmth/joy/purpose of the Sun, so it’s looking like Placidus does fit for me. In Placidus, Sun intercepted in the 8th, with Merc/Uranus/Pluto in 9th. I like to hide and research/get to the root of things, yet I have a life-long dream to travel. Always a student. Love to go on short trips in August. So maybe Sun is 9th in Koch. Interesting. Diane, your to-the-point contrasting descriptions of the different houses will help me to narrow it down when I get my Koch and compare.

    • Hi anita!

      Just for fun, I would love to see my Sun out of interception. With life-long health/vitality/stamina problems, I just can’t seem to access the warmth/joy/purpose of the Sun, so it’s looking like Placidus does fit for me.

      Those intercepted signs are common w/both Placidus & Koch. I either have Leo-Aquarius or Cancer-Capricorn intercepted & have been known to dither about it. LOL

      Are you going to the Extended Chart Selection option on Astrodienst? That where the drop down list for the different House systems is located. Great site! 😀

      xoxoxoxo diane~

      • That’s quite spooky. I have just applied to be a Support Worker for people with learning disabilities.

        • That’s quite spooky. I have just applied to be a Support Worker for people with learning disabilities.

          That could be a good fit. Hopefully you will get the role & find you enjoy it. 😀

          The Nodes are an interesting study. Seeing your Kite Pattern w/Nodes, I went & looked at my chart & discovered I have a Cradle Pattern w/my Nodal Axis, the Moon & Pluto . . . all in fire & air. Sharing information & seeing others benefit from it gives me emotional satisfaction. Sharing painfully learned lessons i.e. Moon-Pluto sextile is even better. 😛

          xoxoxo diane~

      • I’ve enjoyed the “extended chart” section several times and was sure I saw “Koch” listed in the past. I couldn’t believe it wasn’t there the other day. I just went back and found it half-way down the extended chart page under “house system”. Yes, I do have Natal Mercury square Neptune.

        About choosing Leo-Aqu or Cancer-Cap interceptions: Dithering can be good 🙂 I like your “Keep it Simple” idea when things get too complicated. Now I just need to REMEMBER it!

Leave a Reply

