Observations: Speculating on Aspects to the Moon’s Nodes

Zodiac by Alphonse Mucha

I’m inclined to believe we are more aware of the power of the Moon’s Nodes in our charts if there are planets conjoining them or if they are part of a pattern such as a T-Square, Cradle or Kite. The Nodal axis is always an opposition and as such can form the base of a T-Square or Cradle. In the Kite the axis is the central “arrow”. By the way, I suggest using a small orb of 2-3° for planets aspecting the Nodal Axis. The Nodes are calculated points and do not have the same pull as a planet.

Aspects from the Nodes to the Sun and Moon are the strongest with the Nodal axis aligned with the Ascendant-Descendant axis the next. Those are the most up close and personal points in our natal charts after all. Next would be Mercury, Venus and Mars. The impersonal or transpersonal character of the planets from Jupiter thru Pluto tends to be experienced as archetypes. For instance having Venus conjunct the North Node is much more intimate than say Uranus. A Uranus lesson is sort of like abruptly getting dumped into ice cold water . . . harsh but effective. Venus gently seduces us into acknowledging our North Node qualities and interests.

I have a Cradle Pattern with my Gemini North Node-Sagittarius South Node as the base with sextiles and trines to my Libra Moon and Pluto in Leo. Cradle Patterns are always comprised of compatible elements as is the Kite. I enjoy helping others connect the dots and helping connecting the right people with the right information. Having Pluto in the mix adds depth and purpose to who I am and what I do. When I stop and think about it, I do understand my Nodal Axis and am comfortable my journey along it.

In the case of the T-Square the apex planet is more important. If you have the Sun and/or Moon as the apex planet, you will notice the dissonance much more keenly than any of the other personal planets. T-Squares demand attention and will keep nagging until they get it. Often when transiting planets such as Mars opposes the apex planet completing a Grand Cross, it triggers issues related to the Nodal Axis making those harder to ignore.

Does anyone else have any of these patterns activating their Moon’s Nodes or do the signs and houses where the Nodes fall remain in the background with no aspects. How engaged are you with themes of your Nodal Axis?

13 responses to “Observations: Speculating on Aspects to the Moon’s Nodes

  1. My NN conjuncts Mars in my 3rd house. I’ve been told it’s a bucket configuration in my chart, with Mars/NN being the handle. Mars is a singleton in my 3H, Aquarius. Everything gets filtered through it.

    I need to take action – it’s very hard for me to sit back and be passive. Often when people tell me of their problems in life my first thought is “well then DO something about it”. I’m baffled by people who complain about their situation but don’t make any changes or take action to improve it.

    Also, I’m very independent and self-sufficient, waiting on someone to do something for me drives me nuts. I get very frustrated when I’m unable to do something for myself.

    • Hey Queen of Cups!

      My NN conjuncts Mars in my 3rd house. I’ve been told it’s a bucket configuration in my chart, with Mars/NN being the handle. Mars is a singleton in my 3H, Aquarius. Everything gets filtered through it.

      I need to take action – it’s very hard for me to sit back and be passive. Often when people tell me of their problems in life my first thought is “well then DO something about it”. I’m baffled by people who complain about their situation but don’t make any changes or take action to improve it.

      Also, I’m very independent and self-sufficient, waiting on someone to do something for me drives me nuts. I get very frustrated when I’m unable to do something for myself.

      All of the above says you understand yourself quite well. 🙂 Given how many planets you have in mutable signs it just goes to show how important having Mars conj NN & the handle of a Bucket pattern really is. Great stuff! 😀

      xoxoxo diane~

  2. Well, if you use a tight orb, only my Saturn applies – 3 degrees of sextile/trine with my NN/SN. I’ve come to understand my Nodal Axis but it’s taken work (Saturn)! My Moon is sextile/trine if you stretch to 4 degrees, which I could say I was very sensitive to my nodes.

    • Hi Les!

      My Moon is sextile/trine if you stretch to 4 degrees, which I could say I was very sensitive to my nodes.

      Since your Moon conjoins your ASC, I’d say the orb is fine. I usually allow a wider orb (5-6°) for the Sun & Moon anyway. 😛

      xoxoxo diane~

  3. I don’t understand them very much. NN in pisces 2nd SN Virgo 8th house. I don’t get what it means to an individuals chart when they are in other signs. I think currently the NN is around my 10th house cusp. 🙂

    • Hey Kaz!

      NN in pisces 2nd SN Virgo 8th house.

      Heh, your nodal axis also squares your 12th house Moon plus is part of a Kite with Neptune & Venus. All the Neptune influences make clarity hard to come by though going w/your intuitive, first impressions is a good option. South Node in Virgo can be dead set on needing to know ALL the details creating a situation where it is difficult to see the forest for the trees. Holistic thinking also works well for you. Ever heard of “emotional” intelligence? 😉

      On the whole I don’t pay much attention to the transiting Nodes . . . too much trouble. LOL

      xoxoxoxo diane~

      • I certainly have an abundance of EQ lol. You got the virgo bit right especially as I ‘overthink’, Part of Aspergers I suppose. Only found out in my 40’s it’s why I think and process differently ??????•???.
        Smarter than the average bear but also too sensitive to be ‘out there’ sometimes. No wonder my chart suggests helping people behind the scenes! xox

  4. This is my #1 puzzlement about my natal chart. I have Mercury, S Node, and my MC all conjunct in Taurus, opposing Neptune Rx. I think of it as my Merc/Nep axis. It reminds me of something my cartomancy teacher told me. He said I have great mystical powers, the only problem is I don’t believe in mystical powers. LOL

    • He said I have great mystical powers, the only problem is I don’t believe in mystical powers. LOL

      Ha, ha, ha, ha!! 😀 That’s a pretty strong Taurus comfort zone all right. If it can’t be experienced through the physical senses, forget about it!

      xoxoxoxo diane~

  5. I have sun (capricorn 5)square north (aries 4) and south (libra 4) nodes. Life does have the undercurrent of never quite feeling that I’m in the right place or doing the right thing. I’m often unsure what to shed and what to embrace. Charging ahead, gun-ho one day, the meek, compromising partner the next. Having over-doing-it Jupiter on one side of my south node and Uranus on the other really doesn’t help. Life is rather colourful, ever changing and pleasantly unpredictable but I have to work hard to access that north node calling – in battlefield Aries!

    • Hi Judy M!
      Having over-doing-it Jupiter on one side of my south node and Uranus on the other really doesn’t help. Life is rather colourful, ever changing and pleasantly unpredictable but I have to work hard to access that north node calling – in battlefield Aries!

      Understandable. Capricorn tends to err on the side of caution & the Libra South Node finds making a move without consulting their partner quite challenging. Uranus will probably continue to pitch you into situations where you need to stand up for yourself Aries style. 🙂

      xoxoxoxo diane~

  6. Interesting…I was going to say something about my NN Libra being unaspected except for a measly sextile to my Ascendant…but maybe it ain’t so measly! Hmmmmm….:D

  7. @Charles… mystical powers cán be material! Maybe you have talents with your hands, like making statues/sculpting or being a fysiotherapist? Or you have mystical intuition on the agricultural stock market?! Just a shot in the dark 🙂

Leave a Reply

