Observations: Uranus square Pluto . . . One More Time

Uranus in Aries square Pluto in Capricorn

Uranus in Aries square Pluto in Capricorn

On Monday, May 20, Uranus in Aries will square Pluto in Capricorn for the third time at 11° 13′, so once more I’m taking some time to contemplate what this square means.

On Tuesday the Moon in Cancer took its turn triggering this square by opposing Pluto and squaring Uranus. These days each time the Moon passes through a cardinal sign (Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn) the tension increases. Those of us with our Sun, Moon or Ascendant in the cardinal signs feel each of these lunar passages no matter how brief. So four times a month, we twitch . . . hence my writing this post.

Uranus and Pluto along with Neptune are the outer planets and as such represent archetypes we puny humans have difficulty getting our minds around. They are present in everyone’s natal chart though not everyone has the pleasure of being forced to deal with them via aspects to personal planets. As I’ve mentioned before I’m one of the lucky souls who has all three aspecting my gentle, peace loving Libra Moon. Neptune conjoins it, Uranus is trine and Pluto sextile . . . which is why I’m attempting again to talk about these planets.

As I see it Uranus in Aries pushes hard to feel absolutely unfettered. To do whatever whenever with no regard to consequences. Fiery Aries is driven to take action and tends to be very certain the course they’ve chosen is right . . . courage of their convictions and all that good stuff. Uranus in Aries may be the soul of revolution driven beyond reason to follow those convictions.

Pluto in Capricorn seems all about control. Saturn ruled Capricorn likes order and believes someone competent needs to be in charge, usually them. Pluto sends most folks scrambling for control because they deeply fear what would happen if their dark side were to be let loose. Like those who suffer from OCD, Pluto drives us to align all the tiny details in our lives to perfection rather than risk the chance the monsters within will break out.

Obviously both sides of this square firmly believe their way is the right way. Is there any way to work around this? Perhaps if they are willing to listen to the other two cardinal signs, Cancer and Libra, it might help. Cancer is good at softening Capricorn’s rigidity and Libra can usually get Aries to see there is more than one side to every issue. Squares have a way of highlighting the most immature facets of the signs involved allowing for the possibility of resolution.

In the end we might want to consider surrendering both the need for total control AND unrestrained choice. Life is best lived somewhere in the middle nourishing ourselves with deep connections to others and learning to appreciate the value of compromise.

13 responses to “Observations: Uranus square Pluto . . . One More Time

  1. Hi Diane Thanks for being here.I have moon in Cap at 7 degrees and Sun in Libra at 9 degrees and Asc in Cancer at 27 degrees. A Mars Venus Jupiter all in a Scorpio stellium.Its been awhile since I’ve written cause they wouldn’t leave me out of my straight jacket to do it. LOL.But OMG thank god for astrology.Saturn in my fourth is where Saturn is sitting on all my fourth house planets. I have the Sun conj. Neptune and Mercury and scorp stellium all in the fourth. Family family family is all I get done now. I come from a really dysfunctional nut house.I am 66 years old never married or have children cause I had too much work to do to untangle my childhood madness. You know the usual divorced parents by age of ten and alcoholic parents violence in the house father killed in an accident when I was 16 you know the usual madness. I am a real fan of StarIQ with Jeff and Rick and between you and other great astrologers people can get real help along with therapy.Being libra as you and I are we came to do a real balancing act and just wanted to say thanks again for being there.I know you feel the madness as well.My best to you.

    Shirl

    • Hi Shirl!

      I have enjoyed StarIQ ever since I found it years ago. Those guys are great astrologers and all around good guys. 😀

      I have moon in Cap at 7 degrees and Sun in Libra at 9 degrees

      One last hit coming Nov 1 when the Uranus-Pluto sq is at 9°. It’s the very last one in March 2015 that bites me! I do my best to remember there are many, many people out there who have already survived this successfully & we can too. 😛

      xoxoxoxo diane~

  2. ooooh Diane, The eclipse was a shocker as my Mom was ill and I was worried to death(4th hse) and I remember my ascendant is early degrees Capricorn and I know for sure since Pluto entered Capricorn in 2008 I’ve been in the tumble dryer. A part of me is hoping the Uranus in the 2nd house will bring in an unusual way of earning a living! ….absolutely unfettered! The horse has definitely bolted from the stable lolxox

    • {{{{Kaz}}}}} Hope your Mom is on the road to recovery.

      I know for sure since Pluto entered Capricorn in 2008 I’ve been in the tumble dryer. A part of me is hoping the Uranus in the 2nd house will bring in an unusual way of earning a living! …absolutely unfettered! The horse has definitely bolted from the stable lol

      Pluto crossing the ASC is always a real eye opener, especially with your natal Jup-Uranus sq ASC. Now that Pluto is out of orb & simply present in your first the intensity may lesson some . . . hopefully.

      OK, with Koch houses Uranus is now in your third house though in the second in Placidus. Uranus in the 3rd is great for coming up with off the cuff brilliant solution . . . it’s just those can vanish as fast as they blow in. LOL BTW, Uranus is done conjoining your natal Chiron & squaring your ASC. Here again there is hope for smoother sailing.

      xoxoxoxo diane~

      • <> Frayed nerves lol. Mom still so so, funny turn and high BP, makes me uneasy as I’m a ‘dependant’ at the moment. Docs over here have a 2 week wait. Usually find people are better by then! Thanks for the other information. Locally 3rd house is where things seem to be opening up. I’m doing vol work and did a course last wednesday on Autism and they asked me to consider doing a talk for parents!!! Back there this wednesday 22nd for another course and perhaps other requests. Scary! Pluto obviously wants me to be more authentic..even though I thought I was! xoxox ???????

        • Locally 3rd house is where things seem to be opening up. I’m doing vol work and did a course last wednesday on Autism and they asked me to consider doing a talk for parents!!! Back there this wednesday 22nd for another course and perhaps other requests. Scary!

          Hey you can do this, Leo Lady!! 😀 😀 Uranus can open doors so quickly we end up in a new place wondering how the HECK we got there. LOL

          Your mom is lucky you are there for her. As a Libra, I’ve found having another person handy who cares really helps keep me sane. 😉

          xoxoxo diane~

  3. So true, the four times a month twitching! Me too. I have Moon in Aries, and my natal Neptune is at 12 Libra, so this Uranus/Pluto square is really affecting me.

    Your last two sentences contain much wisdom

    • Hi mm!
      So true, the four times a month twitching! Me too. I have Moon in Aries, and my natal Neptune is at 12 Libra, so this Uranus/Pluto square is really affecting me.
      It does feel like a roller coaster ride on the cardinal Moon days. 😀

      xoxoxoxo diane~

  4. I’m confused as to these Pluto-Uranus squares. Pluto is transiting my 2nd house Cappy..okay values,money,possessions. Uranus in Aries transiting the 5th. Here’s were I get lost.I have no children,don’t party much,gamble or indulge in short term relationships(I’m married. I guess I’m saying I don’t see much of a connection between the two houses and how one effects the other through these series of Pluto-Uranus squares. What am I missing or not putting together?

    • Hi Linda,

      I have the same transits (Pluto in the 2nd & Uranus in the 5th). One translation is Uranus wishes to take creative expression to an extreme whilst Pluto insists there is no money for frivolities. Another might be feeling like every single creative venture must make money . . . can’t just do it for the fun of it. 5th house=Leo & 2nd house=Taurus . . . in other words, how does Taurus cramp Leo’s style. 🙂

      xoxoxo diane~

  5. I’ve been Taurus cramped for sure, but I’ve learned to live and appreciate living without too many excesses. I still have a few but they are more future oriented than the usual quick fixes. I can thank Pluto for that. That said Diane, many thanks for the 2-5 house description. As usual you are clear,precise and to the point. I am always amazed at the similaries in certain parts of our charts.

  6. Similar question to Linda’s…I have uranus in my arian 8th house (my natal moon is in this house @ 5 degrees, chiron, too, @ 8 degrees). Pluto is in my 5th capricorn.

    I’ve been reading about this square and read that there was another exact square last june. My husband died the following month.

    I guess I’m terrified of more loss. My mother passed away 6 months before my husband. I don’t know if I can deal with much more.

    • Welcome tori!

      {{{{{tori}}}}} totally understandable you are feeling somewhat shell-shocked. I would be too under those circumstances. Uranus will not conjoin your Moon again nor will Pluto square it. So that is behind you. The 8th house deals with estate & inheritance matters among other things.

      If you wish, please use the form on my Personal Reports page to send me your birth data & I’ll be happy to offer you private feed back.

      xoxoxo diane~

Leave a Reply

