Observations: Our Moon & Maternal Modeling

Mother & child © Christian Degroote | Dreamstime.com

Is there a connection between our Moon sign and the modeling imprinted from our mothers? I ended speculating about this the other day after realizing it turns out I’m good at being married. My Libra Moon is content with being part of a committed, formal partnership and intuitively knows what to do in this situation. Could this be related to what I absorbed from my Libra mom growing up? From my perspective I knew she loved us kids but my dad was number one and I was OK with that. However I also realized my siblings had a different experience than I did and it is reflected in their Moon signs. My older sister has her Moon in nurturing Cancer, my brother’s is in detached Aquarius and my younger sister has a Capricorn Moon. Here is where the speculation begins . . .

My Cancer Moon older sister as the first born had our mother all to herself the first year of her life though I came along very quickly. . .our birthdays are only one year and two days apart. It is her two daughters who are the center of her world. She has been married twice, the first time to her children’s father and then a second brief marriage in her thirties. Since then she has been single and devotes most of her time to doing elder care.

Now my Aquarius Moon brother is a highly successful nerd. He has a doctorate in engineering and has always excelled in the sciences. He was a straight A student and all that good stuff. When we were small children, my mother was frantically busy. She often gave my brother and me toys, pets and books to entertain ourselves with and we were content. As long as he excelled in school, he didn’t have to exert himself to understand what made people tick . . . he relied on me to explain those things to him. 😀

Our baby sister with her Capricorn Moon got the message she was best off conforming to the parental rules to get her strokes. She is still the most conventional of us though she has loosened up with age. Of all the siblings she is the only one actively involved in organized religion and devotes a great deal of her time to her church family. A certified teacher, she successfully homeschooled her two children.

I’m sure other people’s experience with their mothers is quite different than mine or my siblings. How our Moons are aspected is one factor as is the Sun sign of the mother. It is fun to speculate about though! 😀

26 responses to “Observations: Our Moon & Maternal Modeling

    • My boyfriend and I both have libra moons 🙂

      Always pleasant & if my experience w/Libra Moon people is anything to go by, very civil and polite most of the time. 😀

      xoxo diane~

  1. Sunny moon. My mom definitely wore the pants in our family. She (and her countless obstacles in life) taught me a lot about owning myself…

    XOXO

    • She (and her countless obstacles in life) taught me a lot about owning myself…

      Ha! Good observation for your sunny Moon! 😀 😀

      xoxoxoxo diane~

  2. Yes, and our Moon & it’s aspects, tells “where the mother was, and what she was going through in HER life, at our time of birth” =)

    • Welcome Tricia!

      Yes, and our Moon & it’s aspects, tells “where the mother was, and what she was going through in HER life, at our time of birth ”=)

      Great point! I can see my mom starting to feel overwhelmed by the time she was pregnant w/my younger sibs . . . she had all four of us over five years.

      xoxo diane~

  3. All my siblings and I were born close together, six kids in 8 years. But I was stunned to see that I shared the same moon with both of my sisters, Virgo. One brother has a pisces moon, oldest son, Taurus for the youngest, and the middle son has a scorpio moon. I would say the boys had a very different experience with our mother.

    • Welcome Phyllis!

      All my siblings and I were born close together, six kids in 8 years. But I was stunned to see that I shared the same moon with both of my sisters, Virgo. One brother has a pisces moon, oldest son, Taurus for the youngest, and the middle son has a scorpio moon. I would say the boys had a very different experience with our mother.

      All the girls w/the same? Sounds like a strong pattern to me. Do you feel like you and your sisters share a need to be useful? Virgo Moon folk can be very good at taking care of the details for those they live with.

      xoxoxo diane~

  4. Thanks Diane. I would say that we feel overly responsible. We are also pluto in virgo generation. We all three had different mothering styles. But a common theme would be how we tend to use logic with our children. I tend to think that my children’s moon signs say more about my mothering. Which differed with each child, leo, cancer, libra, and Gemini.

  5. My mother was a widow at 26. She came back home and remained “married” to her mother for the rest of her short life as she died at 49. While a terrific mother when I was young, she grew resentful as I got older. She remained a child emotionally and I became her mother although she would deny it. I have a Leo Moon in the 9yth house.

    • Hi Linda,
      My mother was a widow at 26. She came back home and remained “married” to her mother for the rest of her short life as she died at 49. While a terrific mother when I was young, she grew resentful as I got older. She remained a child emotionally and I became her mother although she would deny it. I have a Leo Moon in the 9th house.

      Ah yes, the side effects of having Pluto widely conj your Moon. *sigh*

      One of my theories about those with Leo Moons [& there are quite a few of you here!] fits with your experience. Leo thrives on attention more than any other sign. They are easy to love in the kitten phase but can pull too much attention as adults, causing some resentment in their moms. I suppose it depends on the mother’s Sun & Moon sign too.

      xoxoxo diane~

      • Diane,

        You really were spot on with my mother as I forgot to memtion – I don’t know her moon sign but she was, surprise, a Leo.

  6. My mom’s Leo Sun was conjunct my Moon, with her fiesty verbal Mars in Gemini sextile and her Uranus in Aries trine. She was pretty fun as a mom growing up, not at all like other kids’ homemaker type moms! We had more issues once I grew up. I think the Leo Mom enjoyed her kids, but when she wasn’t the center of our lives anymore she wasn’t so happy!

    • Hi Les!
      We had more issues once I grew up. I think the Leo Mom enjoyed her kids, but when she wasn’t the center of our lives anymore she wasn’t so happy!

      Right on as usual! 😀 For some reason we have no Leo Moons in my immediate family, so I don’t have much first hand experience with them.

      xoxoxo diane~

  7. My natal moon is in Scorpio. I have had an innate fear of abandonment all my life. With transiting Pluto conjuncting my Ascendant these days, I am finally starting to address this fear. I suspect that my mother has moon in Leo and so she likes attention 🙂 When I start talking to a friend on the phone, she feels ignored and unhappy.

    • Hi Rekha!

      My natal moon is in Scorpio. I have had an innate fear of abandonment all my life.

      Scorpio Moon is not an easy one but once you work thru your trust issues, you will be incredibly tough! Painful getting there though . . . {{{{{Rekha}}}}}

      I suspect that my mother has moon in Leo and so she likes attention 🙂 When I start talking to a friend on the phone, she feels ignored and unhappy.

      Interesting! Love all the feedback about the Moon in Leo. 😀

      xoxoxo diane~

  8. Interesting observations! I have a Libra Moon, but it is opposed to Saturn. My Mother was not ready for motherhood when I was born. Her best friend told me after my Mom died in her early sixties that my Mom struggled with her role as a Mother. It was not until I was a teenager that I remember any kind of a relationship with her. However, she treated me more like a sister than her daughter. I left for college when I was 16, due to an accelerated program I was in. I never had any angst about leaving home. Married when I was a senior in college. The closeness was never there, but in retrospect, she did teach me to be very independent. Interesting, my sons think I am the very best Mom they could ever wish for, and their friends were always envious of them for the kind of Mother I was to my boys.

    I think the Moom/Saturn showed how my Mother related to me, but also shows the stability I have had as a Mother. Really complex isn’t it!

    • Hi Diane!

      I have a Libra Moon, but it is opposed to Saturn. My Mother was not ready for motherhood when I was born. Her best friend told me after my Mom died in her early sixties that my Mom struggled with her role as a Mother. It was not until I was a teenager that I remember any kind of a relationship with her. However, she treated me more like a sister than her daughter.

      I’m sure there was something similar going w/my mom (she had a self-sacrificing Pisces Moon). She related to me more as an equal than a mother from the time I was in high school on. I tend to emotionally independent too or perhaps emotionally elusive w/Neptune conj my Moon.

      Interesting, my sons think I am the very best Mom they could ever wish for, and their friends were always envious of them for the kind of Mother I was to my boys.

      Wonderful! My two Gemini stepdaughters seem to think highly of me too . . . both have Libra Rising. 🙂

      xoxoxoxoxo diane~

  9. I’ve always found this interesting. I’m AQ moon and my mom is AQ sun. However, my moon is on the cusp so I think I am a mixture of AQ and Pisces. And it is opposite Venus. I’ve done some work with Donna Cunningham’s moon book exploring this. Personally, I feel the lack of attention and the meanness my mom had toward me is the wound I am still working through. I’m not the best with feelings, but have a longing for that. My brother is a Virgo moon and carries enormous self-hatred. So I think we carry the wounds of what we didn’t receive from our mother. This post makes me want to find the work I did last year though. 🙂 My mom is and was a very unhappy person. She also has Virgo moon

    • Hi Debbie!

      However, my moon is on the cusp so I think I am a mixture of AQ and Pisces.

      Could be the effects of Neptune sq your Moon too. Good for confusing emotional issues because it is possible to absorb strong emotions from those close to you. If your mother & brother are unhappy people it is possible when you are around them, you pick up on that. Gah.

      Virgo Moons can get caught up in severe self criticism. Unlike Virgo Sun/Rising folk who have a measure of detachment about their tendency to be hard on themselves, the Virgo Moon often struggles with feelings of inadequacy.

      xoxoxoxo diane~

  10. Interesting! My mom has a Pisces Moon (in the 5th house) and she really, really wanted to have me. When I look at her situation around my birth by looking at my chart and Moon, I can see it mirrorring. She had to wait for me, and was a little scared she couldn’t get pregnant (my Moon in Taurus, slow, sextile my Saturn in Cancer, the mothersign!) My Venus in the 12th house, her hidden loving wish for having me, opposite Saturn in Cancer, the fear I would never come. Also illness, she had a real high blood pressure (Pisces Moon: no borders in blood/pressure?) and I had to come earlier otherwise I would have died. But I was a little small, so I had to be in an incubator for four weeks, and in that time the mother could not touch or feed her own baby, which made her upset (maybe another Venus-Saturn thing: unavailability to express your love, or my inconjunction from Moon to Pluto in the 8th house: fear of death and/or obsession).
    But the most beautiful thing, I think, is that her Moon in Pisces is exactly conjunct my Jupiter (healthy enough, survivor! And no brain damage 😉 and as soon she could mother me, I easily became bigger and bigger (and am overweight now ;-), I see that in the trine from my Venus to my Moon in Taurus, both sextile Jupiter (and therefore my moms’Moon!).

    A few weeks ago I found out by calculating that I was probably conceived with the Moon exact on Jupiter, in that same degree in Pisces where her Moon is and my Jupiter was when I was born (reading the Sabian symbols it is a strange degree, 13th Pisces, about a clumsy man with all kinds of weapons, still haven’t figured that out, maybe my mother and I both had to learn to fight in a properly manner).

    We get on really really good, and I can see this moms moon – my jupiter still reflecting in going on holidays together. Beside my mom and best friend, she is the one I can travel with best, have the most fun and relaxation, and it’s vice versa!

    • Hi Brex!

      From the sounds of it you are a typical Taurus Moon person! You love your mom & she loves you. Taurus Moons are considered the most stable and emotionally content. 😀

      Great synastry aspects between the two of you also. I smile when I see strong Jupiter aspects to the personal planets/ASC in synastry because it usually means the two people like and uplift each other. Generosity & humor punctuate the relationship. Wonderful for you!

      xoxoxoxo diane~

  11. Thanks Diane =) I’m here all the time and have posted before, but not too much. Love reading your words! Yes, Scorpio Moon & abandonment issues as Rekha mentioned.. I hate it when people die or leave me. My Mom lost her Father in Law, my Grandfather, while 5 months pregnant with me…so that explains while I feel that way! She mourned and cried and missed him daily since she adored him…the rest of the pregnancy and longer. I am sure I totally felt that mourning and loss and sadness. As spiritual as I am, I’m the WORST when someone dies, and I have a huge family so growing up it happened a lot. Plus, my Sun squares my Moon and yes indeed my parents were not getting along at the time of my birth since my Grandfather had gotten very sick and died and the whole family was in bad shape without him.

  12. I have really enjoyed these comments, Diane. On a positive note, I have a leo moon child who is my oldest. I have called her my high maintenance child. They do need a lot of attention. On the other hand, Leo moons are very loving. They are very loyal friends.

Leave a Reply

