Observations: Reading – Sane Stress Reduction for 12th House Types

Learning to read

my great grandmother reading to me

As a twelfth house person I have always needed more time alone than most and growing in a family of six, it was not easy to come by. Being able to bury my nose in a book and shut out everything else out was one way of doing that. Mercury conjunct the Ascendant made learning to read very easy for me and once I discovered the school library I was one happy kid.

Over the years I have visited Narnia and Middle Earth many times. In fact re-reading The Hobbit, The Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towersand The Return of the King is something I do every couple of years or so. I fell in love with The Dragonriders of Pernby Anne McCaffery and dreamed of having a dragon of my own.

There are a lot more destructive means of escape to tempt those of us with loaded twelfth houses. More than one astrologer warned me against the use and abuse of drugs and alcohol. Oddly enough those had no real draw for me though I did end up involved with those who were serious substance abusers. “Misplaced nurturance” was how one counselor described my situation. How twelfth house is that!

I still read every day to give my busy mind a break. It lets me sleep better and that’s another favorite thing for twelfth house people. We need our dream time more than most. Gemini season is pretty noisy after all. 😀

12 responses to “Observations: Reading – Sane Stress Reduction for 12th House Types

    • OMG I have the same Dragon reading tendancies….are we related? ?!

      I am beginning to suspect this might be the case! 😀 😀 😀

      xoxoxoxo diane~

  1. I have Neptune on my sun in the fourth and moon in cap square my Neptune. Escaping this world anyway we can is so important for our sanity.We are the poets and artist and musicians and we should all live in the film industry or Hollywood lol. We live a special kind of madness. For me Astrology has saved my life in many ways.Diane gives us a great forum here to express our madness and fantasies and I thank her dearly for that.

    Shirl

    • Hah! Me too! Loved those when they came on the scene! Starting to think about rereading those books . . . 😀

      xoxoxo diane~

  2. Hi Diane, I’m a regular reader of this site,I have Sun, Mercury and Chiron in the 12th,a Gemini moon, I’ve read compulsively my whole life, everything under the sun, it’s how I escape, I don’t drink or dope, I compulsively read, and, I overdo it to my detriment sometimes. What a great photo! I’m guessing she was born in the 1870’s?

    • Welcome Jay Kay!

      I have Sun, Mercury and Chiron in the 12th,a Gemini moon, I’ve read compulsively my whole life, everything under the sun, it’s how I escape, I don’t drink or dope, I compulsively read, and, I overdo it to my detriment sometimes.

      I can relate. My mom used to withhold books from me until I did my chores. Fortunately she was an avid reader too and completely understood.

      I’m guessing she was born in the 1870?s?

      July 14, 1859 to be exact! A Cancer like her grandson, my father.

      xoxo diane~

  3. Hi Diane,

    I have a Venus-Uranus-Pluto conjunction in Virgo in the 12th house. I’ve always turned to reading for relaxation ever since I was a child. I’m a complete bookworm! Spending the day at Barnes & Noble is immensely enjoyable for me.

    I need my alone time to recharge – it’s a necessity. Aside from reading, walking in the woods is also a wonderful stress-reliever for me. The peace & tranquility of the woods melts the stress away!

    • Hi pennie!

      I have a Venus-Uranus-Pluto conjunction in Virgo in the 12th house. I’ve always turned to reading for relaxation ever since I was a child. I’m a complete bookworm! Spending the day at Barnes & Noble is immensely enjoyable for me.

      Ohhhh, bookstores! Best job I ever had was working in a public library & got to check out all the latest books as they came in. 😀
      I need my alone time to recharge – it’s a necessity.

      This is a very common theme for those with personal planets in the 12th, even otherwise more social types like Gemini & Leo Suns.

      xoxoxo diane~

  4. From first grade to sixth grade I was an assistant librarian! I loved being surrounded by books!

Leave a Reply

