Observations: A Dreamy Summer Solstice, June 20-21, 2013

Lingering light on the solstice

Lingering light on the solstice

© Ron Cameron

For a change we have a dreamy summer solstice to celebrate! The Sun enters Cancer in a waxing Grand Trine with enduring Saturn in Scorpio and compassionate Neptune in Pisces. If you live in the northern latitudes you know how magical this time of year can be with long light days and exquisite evenings. There is a very good reason growing up in England inspired Shakespeare to write his classic play, “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” . . . which I love!

As Cancer’s ruler, the Moon is always a key player on this solstice. The Moon is in Scorpio widely trine Mercury, Venus and Vesta in Cancer bringing out the best in this sometimes troubled Moon. Cancer is a lovely place for Vesta to visit and conjoined with sweet Venus, there is no better caregiver around. Together they draw out the healer in the Scorpio Moon. There is far too much pain in this world already without adding more. We are reminded of the healing power of a loving embrace which can make words optional.

Jupiter is poised to leave Gemini for Cancer where it is exalted. Thanks to CJ Wright for reminding me about that! Alan Oken said this about Jupiter in Cancer in his book, Alan Oken’s Complete Astrology: A Modern Guide to Astrological Awareness: “Emotionally through a compassionate understanding of human life. There is a tendency to merge philosophical concepts with personal experiences and an ability to share what is assimilated through intimate relationships.” Emotional intelligence rules!

The Uranus-Pluto square is gradually separating though still within orb. Uranus in Aries is sextile a Pallas-Mars conjunction in Gemini enhancing the power of words and ideas. As long as we keep an open mind we’ll be OK. It is when the desire to control and manipulate others (Pluto in Capricorn) things can go south. Be playful and enjoy a lively exchange of ideas without judgment!

Celebrate this seasonal turning point with friends and family. May the second half of this year bring joy and contentment to you and yours.

8 responses to “Observations: A Dreamy Summer Solstice, June 20-21, 2013

  1. Puck. How now, spirit! whither wander you?
    fairy Over hill, over dale,
    Thorough bush, thorough brier,
    Over park, over pale,
    Thorough flood, thorough fire,
    I do wander everywhere,
    Swifter than the moone’s sphere;
    And I serve the fairy queen,
    To dew her orbs upon the green:
    The cowslips tall her pensioners be;
    In their gold coats spots you see;
    Those be rubies, fairy favours,
    In those freckles live their savours:
    I must go seek some dew-drops here,
    And hang a pearl in every cowslip’s ear. (2.1.1)
    xoxxox
    I think we’ve earned our dreamy summer, and joy and contentment to you Ms Diane xox

    • Ah, Puck! My favorite character! 😀 Read the play and have seen several different films. Best was a BBC production . . . of course.

      I think we’ve earned our dreamy summer

      We have! Whether we get it or not is another story but I’m ever hopeful says Jupiter conj Sun person. *grin*

      xoxoxo diane~

  2. This summer, I’m looking at transiting 8th house Jupiter conjuncting natal 8th house Uranus with transiting Saturn (12th)and Transiting Neptune(4th)both trining natal Uranus. Is that A hell of a Grand Water Trine ? Either I win the lottery or get discounts at the local funeral parlor.

    • Either I win the lottery or get discounts at the local funeral parlor.

      I vote for win the lottery!! tVenus in Leo will have just conjoined your Leo Moon & Mars. 😀

      xoxoxoxo diane~

  3. I am hopeful and curious about the effect of Jupiter conjuncting my natal Saturn (16 degr Cancer). I looked at what happened during the last conjunction, and although I had had quite a heartbreak (natal opposition Saturn-Venus, I guess Jupiter enlightened the opposition) I also finally started studying for an academic degree. In Literature, which brought fun and wisdom, but after all this time I can say it was not the best of choices. I regret the fact I did not choose to learn something more practical, like physiotherapy or something (than I could have a proper job now!).
    But still, something bad and something real good. So, what could happen now, after 12 years? What is going to be “the next round”? 🙂 There is no lover to lose, only to gain 😉
    I think, like you said earlier about the planets in Cancer now, that Jupiter could be triggering my Pluto also (Saturn widely square Pluto, in progression even a bit closer now) because of the subjects: love (who appeared to be more of a sex-partner, 8th house Pluto! Square/opposition Venus, so he left me. But Pluto also is ruler of the 9th, academic studies, so I exchanged dissapointing love for studies 🙂
    Now, I don’t have the money nor the time to start studying again, although I would like it, but I don’t want to make wrong choices again. Maybe a little course in writing will do. Then I can WRITE about my lost loves. With the academic experience in my Literart studies, maybe I could even make it a real good story.
    Do you have any other ideas, or subject which could be triggered by Jupiter conjuncting my natal Saturn?
    (I hope no 6th house trouble, but wait, I am probably starting a fysical and psychological course to learn to cope with my back problems! With this conjunction, it should be the right time and the right programme!)
    I guess nothing left for you to guess! 🙂
    Wishing you a long, healthy, cosy, safe and sound summer too!

    • Hi Brex! 😀

      I guess nothing left for you to guess! 🙂

      LOL! Writing down your thoughts works quite well for you, doesn’t it! 😀

      xoxoxoxo diane~

  4. Okay, I’m now ready to celebrate. After many delays, my job offer came through today and I’m happy with it. I checked and the transiting Moon was exactly conjunct my North Node when I got the call, which I’m taking as a good sign. 🙂

    Starting out at this time of my pLunar Return I hope is good too, though I guess coming things like nodal return and Saturn Return may spin things. It’s a bit of a new direction in my work, so new directions with pMoon in my 1st house seems like a good idea.

    Anyway, Happy Summer Solstice this week! Enjoy the light!

    • Wow! Congratulations, Les!! 😀 😀

      New direction is great! Keeps you on your toes and from getting bored. May this job turn out to be quite successful!

      xoxoxoxoxo diane~

Leave a Reply

