New Moon in Leo, August 6, 2013

New Moon in Leo

New Moon in Leo

© Heidi

No doubt about it, this New Moon at 14° 35′ Leo on 6 August 2013, 05:51 PM PDT is going to wake everyone up! An electrifying trine to Uranus in Aries gives the luminaries a serious creative jolt whilst Uranus is also part of a T-Square with Pluto in Capricorn and Jupiter in Cancer.

Having Uranus trine the New Moon is wonderful! Here’s hoping this will reawaken our creativity and self-expression. Nothing like a dose of fire sign enthusiasm to open our eyes and encourage us to get moving again. The trine softens the edginess and may prevent the need to explore the extremes of risky behavior. Don’t be surprised if you see children running around shrieking with laughter and generally acting goofy!

If you are grinding your teeth and feeling the need to rebel against the status quo, you’re probably taping into the cardinal T-Square with Jupiter in Cancer plus the influence of the waning square to Mars in Cancer (exact on July 31). Jupiter in Cancer opposing Pluto in Capricorn forms the base of the T-Square now and I see these two planets as far more likely to cooperate than not. Jupiter in Cancer loves the idea of a traditional family as does Pluto in Capricorn. They are willing to join ranks against what they see as flouting those sacred traditions by Uranus in Aries. Uranus in Aries is probably the most extreme teenager ever . . . willing to do anything to break free of what it perceives as stifling boundaries. Those most likely to be drawn into these conflicts are people with personal planets and Angles from 9° to 12° in the cardinal signs. “You’re not the boss of me” is one possible theme!

The New Moon marks the beginning of an active period with Jupiter completing the T-Square. It will begin to wane after the exact square of Jupiter to Uranus on August 21, the day after the second Full Moon in Aquarius. It is my thought this translation of the T-Square will play out more in the collective than when the Sun, Venus and Mars in Cancer each acted as the trigger planet. Jupiter is much more interested in the big picture and taking philosophical stands than yelling at mom and dad.

Now I will return to more pleasant topics like the waning sextile between Venus in Virgo and Mars in Cancer (exact on August 2). These two are very sweet together. Both are extremely sensitive to the needs of others and show their affection with gestures rather than words. Your sweetheart might be inspired to clean your house or cook you dinner . . . both wonderful gestures in my opinion.

Even though the Grand Trine with Jupiter is now history, Saturn in Scorpio and Neptune in Pisces are still trine and sending calming energy out into the disturbed collective. If you have personal planets or Angles from 4° to 5° in the water signs, you may continue to be called upon to act as a peacemaker.

Mercury in Cancer is cruising along by itself and will finally leave Cancer for fiery Leo on August 8. Mercury in Leo will be ready, willing and able to start sharing the wonderful, innovative ideas generated by the Uranus-New Moon trine.

The sky is still dominated by cardinal water and that means we are still being driven by our emotions. We need to continue to practice objectivity as best we can.

As New Moons go, this one is great for coming up with new solutions to old problems and may mark a turning point for many people. The atmosphere is charged and somewhat dangerous but still exhilarating, especially for those who enjoy living on the edge. Take time to carefully consider your next step and remember to act with kindness and consideration for other people’s feelings.

On a personal note: This New Moon conjoins my Saturn-Pluto conjunction in Leo and is sextile my Libra Moon. With Mercury in Cancer square my Libra Sun-Chiron, perhaps I will be able to resolve some old, painful issues. One can hope!

Saturn is almost ready to make the last exact pass over my natal Jupiter . . . something I’m looking forward to. I have the sense Saturn has delayed the benefits of the Jupiter-Mars conjunction in Cancer trine my natal Jupiter. Saturn has a way of doing that.

The Jupiter-Pluto opposition creates a T-Square with my natal Neptune in Libra and I really have no idea how THAT will play out! *grin* I guess I’ll find later!

4 responses to “New Moon in Leo, August 6, 2013

  1. I have something like you Diane, the t-square (Jupiter-Pluto opposition) will be made with my natal Pluto, because Pluto (retro) is nearly exact square natal Pluto. I don’t know what it could turn out either, but I can tell you I can see, and even more, feel the positive things Jupiter in Cancer in my 5th house brings. Few weeks ago I started with a mental and physical programme with fysiotherapists and psychologists and it’s bringing back old pieces of me, the joy of movement and playing (sports, 5th house 🙂 and changing wrong patterns into good ones. It is a real and big gift, I am very happy with it.
    For the first time I can relate Pluto (and maybe even the square) with something positive, a positive transformation (natal Pluto 8th house) because I am coming closer to my original personality, my true being. It is all about balancing (Pluto in Libra 🙂 I hope I can take all the benefits from it, keep being faithful to the programme and not turn to my old routines when it stops.
    So what do you think, is this t-square the culmination, or (with new moon, in my 7th house btw) just the beginning and am I not seeing the hard work which lies in front of me?!
    Is Jupiter making everything just more positive, a real healer (on the cusp of 6th house now) or could he be blowing up my monsters from the past (pluto-square pluto, 12th to 8th house)?

  2. Wake up is right – the New Moon will be exactly conjoining my natal Uranus! Anything involving Uranus interferes with my sleep and sets my Leo Uranus/Moon/Ascendant on edge (sigh). Well, maybe I’ve been getting that over with this week – crazy exhausting week, 4th week on the job, but today things were brought back into some balance. My boss finally had some time to sit down with me and parcel out some of the project I’m responsible for with looming deadlines that were beginning to really scare me and make me think I’d made the wrong decision getting on board. I’m feeling much better about it, which is good going into the weekend so I can relax (alas, spending the weekend helping my bf pack as he’s moving in 2 weeks and freaking out – but at least one of us will be calm!).

    The planets are coming into Leo/Virgo season, joining my pMoon exploring starting over in the 1st house. Funny, my mother said I was a pretty content baby at home, but I was also easily frightened. That sensitive Moon/Uranus.

  3. I was wondering how you would tackle this New Moon, Diane Thanks for such a helpful post.

    Yes, like you, it’s conjunct my natal Pluto, almost to the minute. Some apprehension here but also a certain anticipation. I have to say that I don’t like the current planetary emphasis on 12 degrees of various signs, particularly with tr Chiron and my natal Neptune involved, and the sooner this breaks up the happier I shall be.

  4. Thanks for this Diane. Very helpful.

    I’m another New Moon conj natal Pluto. A mixture of apprehension and anticipation would best describe my feelings at the moment …..

Leave a Reply

