Observations: Not so sweet Libra Season is here!

Sun in Libra - masculine air sign

Sun in Libra – masculine air sign

© Stephanie Pui-Mun Law

Libra Season is my favorite time of year in part because it means autumn is about to begin with all its glorious colors and clear, crisp air; and in part because the Sun in Libra reinvigorates me as it passes over my Libra planets. It could be extra invigorating this time. 😀

For most Libras the default setting is the desire for a peaceful, harmonious life. That doesn’t mean they can’t stand up and fight back with great effectiveness. There are quite a few lawyers, generals and other militant types who are Libras. Naturally words are their weapon of choice and they can debate almost as well as Gemini . . . almost!

This year’s passage through the seventh sign will be more challenging than usual and we will probably see the “iron fist in the velvet glove” side of Libra much more frequently. The outer planets, with the exception of Uranus in Aries, are in signs that are less than compatible with airy Libra. Even though fiery Aries works well with Libra, the ongoing square between Uranus and Pluto complicates things.

The most intense period will be the first week in October leading up to the Libra New Moon on October 4. During that week the Sun will take its turn triggering the Uranus-Pluto square. The Libra New Moon is looking particularly contentious because both the luminaries will take part in a cardinal T-Square. Those who have personal planets in the cardinal signs from 9° to 11° will be most agitated by this event. It will a week later when the Sun squares Jupiter in Cancer on October 12, giving us one last jolt before a degree of calm returns.

All of us Libras will have the Uranus-Pluto square in our Solar Returns and many will have the Sun as part of a cardinal T-Square. Yes, your friends and relatives may be very surprised when their sweet, peace loving Libra turns out to have quite a bite this coming year!

Because Venus rules Libra we tend to forget it is a masculine air sign but this Libra Season we will be reminded of this frequently. Brace for more fierce arguments and fewer sweet smiles.

19 responses to “Observations: Not so sweet Libra Season is here!

  1. I don’t care. Being nice and quiet got me nothing. People took advantage of it. For many years I was too tired to fight; now I wouldn’t waste my energy, I survived.

    Diane, will you be doing a Venus Return post? It’s almost time for us Venus in first house Sag people.

    • Hi Lynda!

      I did take a look at our Venus Returns . . . yours is trine Uranus & mine is sq Neptune. 🙂 You might decide to try out a new look (successfully) & I won’t be able to figure exactly how I’m coming across! I like yours better than mine. Just thinking about Neptune’s effects makes my eyes cross. 😛

      xoxoxoxo diane~

      • I’m not a big fan of all things Neptune, too wishy washy. I have it natally in my 11th house Libra and it has brought major disappointments. Right now it’s transiting 4th house Pisces and I feel like I’m drowning in that area. As to the Venus Return, a new look at the hair salon next week and next summer, a more radical change. Hint: not during a Venus Retro. This Libra will be shaking her iron fist this coming year. Thanks for all your help during this past difficult year and happy birthday when it occurs fellow Libra.

        • Hi Lynda!
          As to the Venus Return, a new look at the hair salon next week and next summer, a more radical change. Hint: not during a Venus Retro.

          Venus Retro is another event happening late year in Capricorn . . . it starts on the Winter Solstice and runs thru Jan 31. May flatten the Christmas Holidays to a certain extent. 😦 I am not a fan of Venus Rx & this one will be squaring both my Sun & Moon. Not going to think about it any more right now . . . LOL

          xoxoxoxo diane~

  2. Ditto. This double Libra has taken all she can stand. Couple the Uranus-Pluto squares with my Saturn return and you have…madness! But I’m finding it’s all in the name of some greater good.

    • {{{{orianaaa}}}}

      Couple the Uranus-Pluto squares with my Saturn return and you have…madness! But I’m finding it’s all in the name of some greater good.

      Sometimes trusting in the greater good is all we can do. Thankfully Saturn has finished polishing your Mercury before heading for the 1st pass over your Saturn (week leading up to T-Day). Mercury will be conj your ASC so at least you will be able to articulate what’s going on in your head!

      Hey, 15° Libra is the midpoint between your Sun & Moon & the one midpoint I notice the most when transited. Mercury in Libra conjoined yours midweek last week. Also feel when Pluto has completed transiting your Jupiter-Mars you will truly get how you make your own luck. 😀 You have the same delightful Venus Return as I do . . . Venus-Neptune sq. Creative but wobbly. 🙂

      xoxoxoxo diane~

      • Oh man…neptune has been squaring my venus since March 2012, just weeks before I entered a classic venus square neptune relationship with a younger man who I loved with all my heart but the age difference eventually got the best of us (exactly during the venus, pluto, uranus t-square). “Disillusioned” is an understatement! I can’t wait for it to be over.

  3. Naturally words are their weapon of choice and they can debate almost as well as Gemini . . . almost! And when there’s a lot of Libra energy followed by a Scorpio Sun and a Gemini Asc, watch out! But those words are mostly online. In person, though, it’s not as strong. Somehow the effectiveness is a bit muted, blocked or filtered. I notice I get talked-over a lot or interrupted, in person or on the phone. I’m curious to know where that energetic signature is coming from. Probably something to do with that handle on my planetary bucket, if you get my drift.

    • Hey Joe!

      Somehow the effectiveness is a bit muted, blocked or filtered. I notice I get talked-over a lot or interrupted, in person or on the phone. I’m curious to know where that energetic signature is coming from.

      It is the handle of your bucket pattern! I have something similar going on. Usually Mercury conj ASC would be considered excellent for a quick tongue but I keep stumbling over mine due to the inconj to Uranus as well as being on the 12th house side. Frustrating for both of us. 😛

      xoxoxoxo diane~

  4. An interesting October coming up! down here in the southern hemisphere, the sun climbs in energy, opposite to the northern hemisphere. Does this mean the sun is now exalted in Libra if you live in this part of the earth or born in the southern hemisphere? In my case – Australia.
    I have often wondered about that.

    Anyway, I have my birthday on the full moon day… Yikes! I think I’ll go hide in a Vault of something…lol!

    • Welcome RodJM!

      Does this mean the sun is now exalted in Libra if you live in this part of the earth or born in the southern hemisphere?

      No . . . the Sun loves fire signs far more than air! 😀 Libra is far too detached for the Sun to be comfortable, probably one reason Libra is considered its fall.

      Happy B-Day! The best thing about Solar Returns for those of us with our Libra Suns in the late degrees is this year Saturn is no longer conj the Sun. It has finally moved too far away to be a pain. 😀

      xoxo diane~

  5. I happen to think that an iron fist in a velvet glove is an excellent way to be, so I see this as a positive, albeit disruptive, change.

    • Hi Eme Kah!

      I happen to think that an iron fist in a velvet glove is an excellent way to be, so I see this as a positive, albeit disruptive, change.

      As do I . . . 🙂 Less velvet, more iron these days. LOL

      xoxoxoxo diane~

  6. Hmm. I just realized that this t-square aspects my Cancer rising, making for a grand cardinal cross. I have no idea how to handle that, other than to speak out when something bothers me, even if it makes for an awkward and uncomfortable moment. But it does sound very challenging.

    • Hi Eme Kah,
      Hmm. I just realized that this t-square aspects my Cancer rising, making for a grand cardinal cross.

      It does & it did last year around this time with Pluto exactly conj your DES. Thankfully this appears to be a waning influence for you as Pluto moves deeper into your 7th house. Pluto has a way of leaving only bare bones behind & hopefully some clarity. 😦

      xoxoxoxoxo diane~

      • Oh, God, yes. It was much more painful, but now it makes sense why I’m getting angry all over again about what happened at around this time last year. And, yes, it was related to partnership issues and my passive behavior. Just ways in which I was giving up control and responsibility, in particular with a situation that triggered an old childhood abandonment trauma. It still burns me up.

Leave a Reply

