Full Moon Lunar Eclipse in Aries, October 18, 2013

Full Moon in Aries

Full Moon in Aries

© Arvind Balaraman | Dreamstime.com

The luminaries sail through this lunar eclipse at 25° 45′ Aries on 18 October 2013, 04:38 PM PDT with no close aspects which allows us to experience this classic opposition between Aries and Libra with few distractions.

Aries is the ultimate self-starter who knows all about the importance to taking action rather than dithering around waiting. In fact, they hate waiting! Libra prefers to consult with others before taking that important first step. Under ideal conditions they balance each other out nicely . . . something we haven’t seen ever since Uranus entered Aries. Uranus in Aries has been hounding Aries folk to MOVE regardless of whether conditions are right or not. Libra has adjusted with help from Saturn but still is not happy feeling like they are being rushed into making choices.

On this Full Moon it is the rulers of Aries and Libra who are in the thick of the action. Venus, Libra’s ruler, is in adventurous Sagittarius trine Uranus in Aries and exactly semi-sextile to Saturn in Scorpio. Mars, Aries’ ruler, is newly arrived in Virgo and makes an exact opposition to Neptune in Pisces. Right off hand I would say Venus gains from her trine to dynamic Uranus and Mars loses through the opposition to soggy Neptune. What we end up with is a stalemate. This may mean women in general will feel more empowered through developing their sense of independence whilst men will do better to embrace their feminine side. Saturn’s role is to help define boundaries and roles in relationships. Be kind to one another when working out differences or risk damaging the relationship beyond repair.

One of the downsides to Mars-Neptune aspects is Neptune has a tendency to drain energy from Mars, leaving it more vulnerable than usual. Mars has great difficulty with Neptune’s lack of edges. Mars loves knowing exactly what direction it needs to go and that is one reason it is exalted in Saturn ruled Capricorn. Saturn is the best at creating clear boundaries and showing precisely where action needs to be taken.

One of the most helpful aspects is the trine between Mercury in Scorpio and Jupiter in Cancer. Mercury is at a virtual standstill preparing to station retrograde on October 21 at 18° Scorpio (the day before the Sun enters Scorpio) and it needs all the support it can get. Jupiter brings good humor and a generous spirit to the situation, allowing this reticent Mercury to find a way to express opinions with a degree of grace. Because the harsh Uranus-Pluto square is now within minutes of being partile, we need this trine badly to be able to come to any kind of compromise. By the way, shooting the opposition is not the best way to solve the problem, merely the most expedient.

Speaking of the Uranus-Pluto square . . . please refrain from meddling in other people’s business just because you are sure your way of doing things is better, OK?! The resentment that breeds has a way of coming back to haunt us sooner or later. With Uranus in the picture it may be sooner.

Cardinal water and earth signs still dominate the sky and because they do, it is critical to get in touch with our feelings and pay close attention to the emotions of those closest to us. Lunar eclipses have a way of bringing our emotions to the surface and if we are prepared for this, we can learn enough to make more informed choices . . . a Libra thing. This Aries Full Moon may be a wild ride, so hold on tight!

On a personal note: Probably the most intense aspects to my chart involve my first house. The Mars-Neptune opposition creates an exact T-Square with my natal Venus in Sagittarius while transiting Venus in Sagittarius is within a degree of conjoining my South Node. Good thing I’m an old married woman in the crone stage of my life because that looks like a perfect recipe for making some really bad judgment calls over some pretty man. All the heedlessness of Sagittarius on display and in action! The Venus-Uranus trine won’t help matters either. Those of you who have Venus in Sagittarius from1° to 3° please take note. *shakes head*

The Uranus-Pluto square at 9° creates exact a T-Square with my natal Neptune. How this will affect me depends on the rather wide conjunction between my Libra Moon and Neptune. I’m hoping not . . . *grin*

10 responses to “Full Moon Lunar Eclipse in Aries, October 18, 2013

  1. Wow just as I began reading this, hey ho by the luminaries came on the radio, as I read the word luminaries! Synchronicity! I’ll take it as a sign… Thanks!

  2. This hits my 24 degree Moon/North Node conjunction in the 7th house. Also I’m having my progressed lunar return almost exact at this time! I guess I’ll be looking to my parter for some excitement?

    • Hi Autumn!
      This hits my 24 degree Moon/North Node conjunction in the 7th house. Also I’m having my progressed lunar return almost exact at this time! I guess I’ll be looking to my partner for some excitement?

      Is your Moon in Aries or Libra? In either case I do believe you are right. *grin* It will certainly shine light on your relationships & how you truly feel about them.

      xoxoxoxo diane~

      • My moon is in Aries, I realized it will also square my 10th house 27 degree mercury in Cancer…it will be interesting to see how this plays out!

  3. Hmmm, that opposition Mars-Neptune is taking place in my 1st and 7th house (of course, Mars in the 7th!) but Pisces and Virgo are intercepted, so actually I don’t know if this makes it stronger, or weaker. Although I finally have some control over my crush I told you about earlier, this makes me a bit scared. because… at this full moon, Venus is very close to my own Mars-Neptune conjunction! I hope that Mercury is strong enough to keep my head together. (ninth house, meditation I guess!)
    For me it looks like a new challenge in an old subject (obsessive love) I thought I just let go of.
    Maybe the eclipse-thing can shed a light on it? What does it mean, which one shadows the other, is the sun eaten by the moon, or the other way round? This could tell me which energy is stronger, female or male! FOr me with that Mars in the 7th, the male energy LOOKS stronger, but maybe that’s exactly the illusion (Nept) that I have to overcome! Because of Venus you say the female energy is stronger. Okay, i’ll trust you (and myself!) on that. And will see what happens. The Final Test! 🙂

    • Hi Brex!

      Although I finally have some control over my crush I told you about earlier, this makes me a bit scared. because… at this full moon, Venus is very close to my own Mars-Neptune conjunction!

      And Venus is exactly sq your Jupiter, triggering your natal Mars-Neptune sq Jupiter. Looks a lot like the pot bubbling over to me. 😀

      OK . . . the reason I believe Venus is stronger than Mars in the eclipse chart is because of the fire trine to Uranus whilst Mars is not at its best in Virgo and further debilitated by the opposition to Neptune. Now if Mars was in Capricorn sextile Neptune in Pisces, I’d say Mars was much stronger.

      BTW, I use Koch Houses for those born north of about 45°-47° degrees and w/Koch Houses Pisces is on the cusp of the 2nd house.

      xoxoxoxo diane~

  4. Well in my own chart I don’t fully understand the aspects and emphasis. I just now the between now into November feels strongly directed toward a liberation I have been working on for years. A now or never kind of thing. 3rd house or 9th house or Uranus Pluto….it has to be better than before. I’m stronger and ready 🙂

    • Hey Kaz! 😀

      A now or never kind of thing. 3rd house or 9th house or Uranus Pluto….it has to be better than before. I’m stronger and ready 🙂

      That’s good because the Solar Eclipse New Moon in Scorpio (3 Nov) conj Saturn is very, very close to your MC with Mars in Virgo making a waxing sextile to your MC. Plus Jupiter is within a couple of degrees of your Venus. Hey, looks very promising! 😀

      xoxoxoxo diane~

  5. Thanks Diane! I prefer Placidus system, with Koch Jupiter moves into the 2nd house, and I am not that good in earning money 😉 (or it must be that square to Nept 🙂 I look at the Venus / Mars-Nept this way: this summer I have been blown up (Jup)by the beauty and dream (Nept) of a man (Mars) so maybe this is a change to investigate (Merc trine Jup) this mechanism, because it could well happen again (and it happened before 😉 The problem with Mars opp Nept is this, I think: do I really want this mechanism to be solved? Do I really want to be healthy in the subject of love? Or am I too used to the highs and lows, so I cannot let them go? Somehow everything is pointing to some experience, and maybe… the answer.

Leave a Reply

