New Moon Solar Eclipse in Scorpio, November 3, 2013

karma

The New Moon Solar Eclipse at 11° 16′ Scorpio on 3 November 2013, 04:50 AM PST is pregnant with potential but it will be up to us as individuals to transform that potential into reality. The Scorpio stellium (the North Node in Scorpio, Mercury retrograde, the luminaries and Saturn) points to a longer period of gestation than is typical for a New Moon.

“Tough love” is one theme associated with both Scorpio and Saturn. When these elements are combined as they are on this lunation, the message to take responsibility and prepare to make amends comes through loud and clear. Over the years I have observed this: when we learn to respect and implement Saturn’s lessons on behaving in a mature and responsible manner, Saturn transits of all types become much less stressful. The New Moon Solar Eclipse is taking this lesson to a whole new level and then drawing it out over the next few weeks due to Mercury retrograde. Maybe we all need to take a good long look at the area of our chart the New Moon falls in and eat humble pie if necessary.

The exact North Node-Mercury conjunction in Scorpio raises the possibility of finally being able to articulate what is lurking in our unconscious and preventing us from moving forward. The sacred mysteries surrounding sex, death and rebirth have been undermined and denigrated in many, many modern societies. This is unfortunate to say the least because those mysteries are no less powerful for being denied. Finding our own peace with those is one of the challenges of this New Moon Solar Eclipse where the Moon blocks the light of the Sun allowing us even more access to our hidden agendas. Be kind to yourself during this process.

Probably the best, most helpful aspect in this chart is a trine between Scorpio’s co-rulers – Mars and Pluto. Virgo and Capricorn are both extremely capable and well organized earth signs. Pluto is sextile Chiron in Pisces which opposes Mars in Virgo, bringing a healing element into play. One of the keys to making progress in healing old wounds is acknowledging they exist . . . something many have a surprisingly difficult time doing. In fact, the New Moon is part of a Cradle Pattern in earth and water with Mars, Pluto and Chiron, so use this lunation wisely and with care because it could hold the seeds to a new and better future.

A Venus in Sagittarius-Ceres in Virgo square highlights the differences between these two mutable signs and planets. Venus is intent on enjoying herself, running free and playing with whomever catches her eye whilst Ceres in Virgo is all about placing the needs of others first . . . and is more than willing to inform Venus as to why she should be doing the same. This aspect may play out more in mother-daughter relationships than between lovers.

Jupiter in Cancer is not really part of the action on this lunation but will be on the Taurus Full Moon. I also see the trine between the Scorpio Sun and Jupiter on November 12 as the time when forces set into motion on the New Moon begin to really move.

Yes, the Uranus-Pluto square is exact at 9°. Yes, it is a pain but one with which we are growing ever more familiar. Humans are surprisingly adaptable creatures and if you sit down to review what you have grown accustomed to since 2010, it might surprise you! The main thing I wish to note is at this time Pluto has far more support than Uranus. Working within existing systems may be more effective than rebelling against them.

We get a taste of Neptune in Pisces via a very wide trine to Mercury in Scorpio. What I’m hoping is Neptune’s natural compassion will aid us in processing whatever Mercury in Scorpio unearths from our inner depths. We’ll need it.

Perhaps the best way to handle the deep, powerful energy of the New Moon Solar Eclipse, and what it draws forth from within us, is to hold our fragile new revelations in respectful silence. Now is not the time to share every passing thought and feeling with others, no matter how close. Allow plenty of time for gestation before giving birth to the new and improved version of yourself. Respect other people’s privacy and cherish your own as part of this process.

On a personal note: This is a real mixed bag for me. Jupiter is exactly trine my natal Mars in Scorpio and Venus is sextile my Libra Sun. The whole Scorpio stellium surrounds my twelfth house Part of Fortune whilst the Uranus-Pluto square makes an exact T-Square with my natal Neptune in Libra. And Neptune in Pisces continues to square my natal Venus in Sagittarius.

I’m betting it will be a wash, and whatever realizations need to filter through to my conscious mind will probably do so when the Scorpio planets begin to move over my Ascendant. The Sun will be first by a long shot because Mercury won’t crawl out of my twelfth until December! Saturn will be there for another year.

36 responses to “New Moon Solar Eclipse in Scorpio, November 3, 2013

  1. I consider scorpio to be lucky for me. I have a jupiter and neptune in scorpio in my fourth house, which is packed right now with the sun, mercury, and saturn. This moon will be in my 4th just barely. Mars is currently conj with my natal pluto in my second house and pluto is in the same house and sign as my natal mars. Chiron is conj with my natal sun in my 9th house. So I think that I will take this as an excellent time to make a New Moon wish list and work on some projects.

    • Hi flip!

      So I think that I will take this as an excellent time to make a New Moon wish list and work on some projects.

      I agree! It looks like you have plenty of support for that. However staying mum about that is a good idea, especially with the emphasis below the horizon. If you have ever had a brilliant idea, gotten distracted by something and had it disappear, that’s why . . . 😛

      xoxoxo diane~

  2. Well after losing my dog on the last eclipse I truly hope this brings something good. My Harri certainly helped me heal a few things in his own furry way. 9th house eclipse…I forget. Anyway send me some plan tickets outta dodge xox

    • {{{{{Karen}}}}}

      With Saturn in Scorpio within a degree of your MC, Pluto in your 1st & the other planets of the Cradle Pattern in your 2nd-8th houses, this New Moon could help you transition into a better work situation. By the Taurus Full Moon, Saturn will have crossed your MC into your 10th & the Sun conjoins your Neptune. Definitely tenth house! 🙂

      xoxoxoxoxo diane~

  3. 17 Libra rising here & this eclipse falls at the tail end of my first house. I don’t have anything in my natal chart at 11 degrees, the closest thing would be my 3rd house Cap mars at 13 degrees..so Saturn will be sextile, I think that sounds pretty good. Lets see how this plays out. I actually just booked a trip to go visit my brother that weekend, which I am pretty excited about and well, siblings/3rd house, kinda makes sense there 🙂

    • Hi Autumn!

      I actually just booked a trip to go visit my brother that weekend, which I am pretty excited about and well, siblings/3rd house, kinda makes sense there 🙂

      Yes, it does! Saturn sextile your 3rd House Mars ought to help with any Mercury Rx related issues. I recommend allowing extra travel time though. A sensible precaution whether Mercury is Rx or not! 🙂

      BTW, I usually consider planets within 2° – 3° of a house cusp as being in the next house.

      xoxoxo diane~

      • Great, thanks Diane! My 2nd house starts at 14 Scorp24, so in that case would you put the eclipse in my 1st or 2nd?

        • Hi Autumn!

          I would definitely place Saturn in Scorp in your second and since it is part of the New Moon stellium, it may very well drag those in too. Often when Saturn is on the cusp we get very clear messages about the effect it will have during the transit period. Lessons in frugal living can be part of this transit. Sometimes our income drops for one reason or another, like leaving a job we hated for one we love w/less pay. If the Eclipse is influencing your second house, all of this could be more intense.

          xoxoxo diane~

    • Hey Debbie!

      With your Cappy Rising, this may be a good thing for you. I see Saturn is within a degree of your 10th house Mercury too. Good time for researching possible new jobs even though you might not be able to make a move just yet. This is very much a planning stages New Moon but the plans made will be solid and reality based. 😀

      xoxoxoxo diane~

  4. Hi Diane,

    Some similar points. Jupiter was exactly trine my natal Scorpio Saturn and sextile natal Virgo Mars at 18 degrees. Mercury stationed on my Saturn. My 13 degree Taurus Ascendant is getting a lot of action this upcoming week as well as that similar 9 degree Libra t-square where my natal Venus resides. Yeehaw!

    • Welcome GB!

      My 13 degree Taurus Ascendant is getting a lot of action this upcoming week as well as that similar 9 degree Libra t-square where my natal Venus resides. Yeehaw!

      Sounds like a preview of your Saturn Return . . . 🙂 Saturn transiting the DES has a way of bringing relationship boundary issues into sharp focus. Have fun! *grin*

      xoxo diane~

  5. This solar eclipse falls on my 10th-11th house cusp. I have been dealing with many trials and tribulations in that area for a few months and am ready for a new start. As you said it, Saturn has been teaching me about learning to make mature and responsible choices. Here’s to applying Saturn’s lessons and getting a fresh start soon 🙂

    • Hi Rekha!

      As you said it, Saturn has been teaching me about learning to make mature and responsible choices. Here’s to applying Saturn’s lessons and getting a fresh start soon 🙂

      Hear, hear! I wish you much luck and a smooth transition to your new start! 😀

      xoxoxo diane~

  6. Oh, what fun for me. Saturn in my 9th house in an exact square to my natal Aquarian Sun on the new moon eclipse. And with Pluto now 8 degrees off my Asc in the square to Uranus plus Jupiter conjunct my DC, it’ll be interesting to see what develops.

    My new business will only be 5 weeks old so this will either hold things back for longer or release it to take off! I only hope I can be mature and responsible about it this time 🙂

    • Hey Rossa!! 😀

      Saturn in my 9th house in an exact square to my natal Aquarian Sun on the new moon eclipse. And with Pluto now 8 degrees off my Asc in the square to Uranus plus Jupiter conjunct my DC, it’ll be interesting to see what develops.

      Best news is Saturn sq your Sun is history within a day or so after the New Moon! 😀 Transiting Saturn sq or opp the Sun is seldom fun or easy. What I recommend you keep an eye is Neptune hovering near your natal Venus & triggering the Venus-Pluto opp in the 2nd & 8th House axis. Be very careful to evaluate finances with a clear, cold eye please! 😛

      Best of luck with your new business venture! 😀

      xoxoxoxxoo diane~

  7. Diane, We have so many similarities. This is occuring in my 12th house too along with the stellium. Natal Neptune in Libra but thgat planet is currently transiting 4th house Pisces also. So, I guess I should also be patient when these planets passed over the AC. Saturn is the one I’m looking forward too as it supposedly means a new beginning, a coming out of sorts.

    • Hi Linda!

      So, I guess I should also be patient when these planets passed over the AC. Saturn is the one I’m looking forward too as it supposedly means a new beginning, a coming out of sorts.

      And both of us won’t see Saturn leave the 12th for another year . . . *sigh* Venus will be in Capricorn soon and will be spending time Rx. She will create a T-Square w/your Mercury & Uranus on Nov 11. Venus will sq your Sun-Ceres conj 3X early next year.

      xoxoxoxo diane~

  8. Hi Diane!

    I’m curious as to how the solar eclipse will impact me. It will conjunct my sun (5° second house), moon (7° second house)and mercury (3° first house). I’ve been stuck in a rut with my career for the last 2-3 years. I can’t seem to sell my condo either.

    I was born on November 2, 1967 at 4:30 am, the day of a solar eclipse. Will this eclipse be more powerful for me?

    Thanks!

    • Hi pennie!

      Will this eclipse be more powerful for me?

      0_0 umm, YES?! What might be confusing your sense of timing now is Neptune making one last lengthy stay opposite your Jupiter. With so many of your planets in earth & water, you probably need to make a conscious effort to assert yourself & this Neptune transit isn’t much help in that department.

      Birthplace?? 🙂 thanks . . .

      xoxoxo diane~

        • Hi pennie!

          What I am thinking is this Solar Eclipse could mark the beginning of one of those classic Scrop transformations for you. The seeds are being planted now and when Mars in Libra starts transiting your ASC & first house in late December, it should provide more incentive and initiative. Mars will stay in Libra until late July & make three passes over your ASC before moving into Scorpio and conjoining all your Scorpio planets. With your SN in Libra the tendency is to defer to others rather than assert your own preferences . . . this is one of those things you will probably be addressing. Of course, these changes may be more visible in hindsight. Have fun!! 😀

          xoxoxoxo diane~

          • Thanks Diane!

            I’m looking forward to a much-needed transformation. My life has been too much of the same for the last 5 years…time for change!

  9. Hi Diane!
    I was born on October 17, 1985 at 5:20 am, Romania,Craiova
    Will this eclipse be good or bad 4 me?please let me know what should i do?what to expect

  10. hi diane,
    this eclipse is almost conjunct the cusp of my 10th house (scorpio 10 41) and I’m trying to figure out how it will impact my career.
    not getting my hopes up though, as pressure from uranus and pluto has become unbearable lately…
    thank you so much for sharing your thoughts, you’re so inspiring!

    ps I was born oct 3 1975 12 15 GMT

    • Welcome evelyn!

      this eclipse is almost conjunct the cusp of my 10th house (scorpio 10 41) and I’m trying to figure out how it will impact my career.

      It may give you new insights into how you really feel about what you doing & whether or not you wish to take your career in another direction. Solar Eclipses can reveal hidden motivations.

      Birthplace??? Is that AM or PM?

      Thanks! 🙂

      xoxoxo diane~

  11. I am hoping to see some light and wisdom in the darkness. My IC is 27 Libra 49′ 57″ (so the last Full Moon eclipse in Libra-Aries whacked my MC and I was told to move out, which I am doing Nov. 1) and my 4th house extends to 4 Sag 21′. I have Neptune at 15 Scorpio 18′ 9″. Jupiter at 25 Taurus 30′ 27″. Stellium in Virgo 2nd house –including Sun. Leo Asc/Aquarius Dsc. I am absolutely desperate to get pregnant even through it means giving up my hope of ever getting married (I am now early middle-aged)…but the one man in my life (if you can call it that) is a detached cold Sun in Aquarius (who loves me but won’t show it because of his own issues) and I have no other prospects unless I pick up a man in a bar and almost forcibly have sex with him in the bathroom and risk disease. I have thought about it a lot lately. This is not exaggeration. I am a beautiful woman, intelligent, gifted and yet the child and family I want has always eluded me. I have had 3 gyn operations to preserve being able to have a child but not had sexual intercourse (no willing partner) in decades. I feel like I am dying emotionally, spiritually and physically. I think this eclipse on Nov. 3 is going to bring more pain but I hope it won’t. I hope I can find some shred of something to hang onto.

    • Welcome Dawn!

      Wow! Do you have any personal planets from 12° to 15° in the cardinal signs? The last three Uranus-Pluto squares hit those points & may be able to bring about a breakthrough. Without seeing your chart it is hard to make even an educated guess. If you wish, use the link on my Personal Reports page to send me your birth data. Thanks!

      Take care and be kind to yourself, OK?

      xoxoxoxoxo diane~

  12. Hi Diane!
    i m writing you again..excuse me. I completed the wrong time of birth
    I was born on October 17, 1985 at 5:20 PM, Romania,Craiova
    Will this eclipse be good or bad 4 me?please let me know what should i do?what to expect

    • Welcome Adela!

      Will this eclipse be good or bad 4 me?

      I see the New Moon, Mercury & North Node in Scorpio conjoin your South Node & Mercury in the 7th House. Since your Mercury squares Jupiter in Aquarius, you might wish to do your best to avoid jumping to conclusions at this time, particularly when it comes to old friends and other one-on-one relationships. Draw heavily on your sense of humor too. I see Pluto is now conjunct your MC & trine your first house North Node in Taurus. This looks quite favorable for dealing with your superiors especially if you work on presenting your most practical face at work. 🙂

      Does this help? 🙂

      xoxoxo diane~

  13. Hello Diane

    What does it mean New Moon, Mercury & North Node in Scorpio conjoin my South Node & Mercury in the 7th House?(I broke up with my boyfriend a week ago,,(he’s Taurus)..it had to be like that?because you said something about my 7th house…this eclipse affects my 7th house?

    Thank you very much
    Kisses

    • Hi Adela!

      Your 7th house is important for several reasons. You have Libra on the Descendant & your Sun in Libra in the 7th house which means your one-on-one relationships really matter. Libra does best when they have at least one or two trusted close friends/partner in their lives because more than any other sign, Libra needs feedback to process information effectively. However you also have Pluto & Mercury in Scorpio in your 7th house so trust issues are present. Compounding your trust issues is that idealistic Venus in Libra square Neptune in Capricorn – the closest aspect in your chart. The square between Jupiter in Aquarius & your Scorpio Mercury probably doesn’t help with this since Jupiter encourages Mercury to leap to conclusions before gathering all the data. 🙂

      I’m inclined to see the Solar Eclipse in your 7th as bringing to the surface some of the reasons for your trust issues. One of the painful moments that eventually result in healing.

      Your first & only Saturn Return pass will be in mid-November 2014. Good luck! 😀

      xoxoxoxo diane~

  14. Hi I’m Libra, 10/14/50 10:29 pm How does one know which house is affected by the New moon and Eclipse. I was told to look in my for planets with degrees of 9, I have mercury at 9 degrees in Libra and Uranus at 9 Degrees in Cancer. Of course I don’t understand , can anyone help me?

    • Hi Iris!
      How does one know which house is affected by the New moon and Eclipse. I was told to look in my for planets with degrees of 9, I have mercury at 9 degrees in Libra and Uranus at 9 Degrees in Cancer.

      If your ASC in 14° Cancer (or close to that) then your Libra planets are in your 4th house & the Scorpio New Moon would fall in your 5th. Offhand I’d say the Uranus-Pluto square creating a Grand Square with your Libra Mercury & Uranus in Cancer will overshadow the Eclipse. 🙂 Based on the chart wheel w/Cancer ASC, unanticipated events at work could affect your home & family. Still a Grand Square is a very stable pattern and may simply reveal the cracks so you can repair them.

      Heh, air is far and away the dominant element in your chart along with cardinal signs . . . you are a go-getter in a very Libra manner.

      xoxoxo diane~

Leave a Reply

