Observations: A Couple of Lunar Returns for the Holidays

Happy Holidays!

Happy Holidays!

© Melani Sie

Ordinarily I don’t pay much attention to my Lunar Returns, the time each month when the Moon returns to its natal degree. However my next two Lunar Returns happen to fall on two major holidays here in this country: Thanksgiving and Christmas. The first one falls on Thanksgiving Day and the second the day after Christmas.

I laughed when I saw my Thanksgiving Day Lunar Return! It has Cancer on the Ascendant and Jupiter in Cancer in the first house with the Moon conjunct Ceres in Libra in the fourth house. Yeah . . . guess who is going to be doing most of the cooking for the big dinner! The sweet Venus in Capricorn-Jupiter in Cancer opposition places Venus in the seventh house, so my hubby will be there to provide morale support.

Since Lunar Returns reflect the mood for the following month, I’d say I’m going to be focusing on home and family doings for the holiday season. Decorating the house and a Christmas tree, doing plenty of baking and being an all around home body is what this looks like to me. The Moon is very widely opposing Uranus in Aries . . . hopefully far enough out of orb to not bug me all that much.

The chart for the second Lunar Return the day after Christmas is much more retiring. Scorpio is on the Ascendant and the Libra Moon is sandwiched between Mars in Libra and Ceres in Libra in the twelfth house. Jupiter in Cancer squares the Moon from the ninth house and if I take into account Mercury conjunct the Sun in Capricorn in the third house, it appears I may be focusing on doing more writing for a change. The fly in the ointment as always is Uranus in Aries. It is in the sixth house of daily routines opposing Mars in Libra in the twelfth, so I still may be mumbling about interruptions, etc. January is the month I’m normally holed up, doing my best to ignore how dark and cold it is outside and this Lunar Return suggests more of the same this January.

Anyway, that’s a little fun with Lunar Returns! 😀

8 responses to “Observations: A Couple of Lunar Returns for the Holidays

  1. my moon is also in libra, at 28 degrees, and my next lunar return occurs on Nov 29, the day after thanksgiving. my chart is pretty interesting. i have the AC in cancer (my sun sign and in my natal 7H) conj my natal NN. also have jupiter rx trasiting my LR 1H opposing venus transiting my LR 7H, LR DC conj my SN, which is within my natal 1H.

    in my LR 4H i have mars conj LR IC within my natal 9H, ceres conj my natal mars in libra in the natal 9H, and the moon is in my LR 4H in my natal 10H, conj my pluto and jupiter and conj my LR 5H cusp.

    my LR 5H is packed with the transiting NN (natal 10H), saturn (conj natal ceres), mercury, the vertex (natal 11H, vertex conj my natal uranus exact), and the sun (natal 12H). i love the saturn conj mercury sextile to venus! saturn is also squaring juno in my LR 8H and natal 2H.

    sometimes its hard for me to predict what will be going on, but after my LR is over, when i look back over my chart i can see how the aspects manifested in my life. this was the case with my last lunar opposition chart which i was able to notice how a lot of aspects played out, after they happened.

    • and i just realized transit juno will be trining my natal mercury in gemini in my LR 12H, and my natal saturn in libra in my LR 4H as well as my natal MC. transit juno will be sextile my natal IC….

    • Hi acquagal!

      sometimes its hard for me to predict what will be going on, but after my LR is over, when i look back over my chart i can see how the aspects manifested in my life. this was the case with my last lunar opposition chart which i was able to notice how a lot of aspects played out, after they happened.

      I’ve probably learned more about astrology studying charts in retrospect than by any other means. I still prefer to not get too caught up in the details when looking at my personal transits, returns, etc. Too much of a worrywart as it is! 😀

      Your Moon closely conjoins my Sun . . . nice! 🙂

      xoxoxoxo diane~

    • Hey Kaz!

      Go to astrodienst & select the lunar return option for charts. It shows the most recent one prior to the current date. If you want to see the next one you need to change the date until it shows up. Or you can email me . . . 😀

      xoxoxoxo diane~

  2. I took a peek at my Lunar Returns recently and saw that the Oct 28 one had a cluster around my IC (with supporting sextiles and trines from Mars, Uranus and Pluto), which certainly fits the attention to selling my condo. But anyway the LR has the same Ascendant/Moon placement as my natal chart so it was showing the transits to my natal chart.

    The Dec 21 one has Moon in my 4th house – alas square Saturn as all of them will be for awhile (this time Saturn in 6th house of work). But it has a sociable Gemini rising in time for Christmas, with Mercury in Sag. And Jupiter in my 2nd house looks like the sale done!

    • Oops, Uranus actually is inconjunct the IC cluster, just adding disruption and sudden frantic scrambles for documentation and such. 😉

    • Hey Les!

      The Dec 21 one has Moon in my 4th house – alas square Saturn as all of them will be for awhile (this time Saturn in 6th house of work). But it has a sociable Gemini rising in time for Christmas, with Mercury in Sag. And Jupiter in my 2nd house looks like the sale done!

      Great lunar return for enjoying your Christmas! Those major transits to the Moon are annoying but we do get used to them to a degree in our lunar returns.

      Oops, Uranus actually is inconjunct the IC cluster, just adding disruption and sudden frantic scrambles for documentation and such.

      Now you will be obsessively double checking to make sure all the appropriate docs are on hand! 😀

      xoxoxoxo diane~

Leave a Reply

