Observations: About that Mars in Libra coming to visit

Mars in Libra

Mars in Libra

© Hans Peter Kolb

Usually a Mars retrograde is no big deal. They occur approximately every two years, last too darn long and frustrate Aries folk no end. The last time Mars was retrograde was the first half of 2012 when Mars was in Virgo. Uranus was in Aries, Jupiter in Taurus, Neptune in early Pisces and Pluto in Capricorn. Other than those times when Mars opposed Neptune, it was a fairly smooth Mars retrograde due to the trines to Jupiter and Pluto. Not the case this time around.

For one thing, Mars is considered to be in its detriment in Libra. Planets are usually in detriment when they fall in the sign opposing the one they rule and Mars rules fiery Aries. Libra’s need to consider all the options before making a move drives Mars around the bend. Detached, mental air gives Mars little traction either.

I grew up with a father and brother with Mars in Libra, not easy for someone with Mars in Scorpio, co-ruled by Mars. If there is a way to make things complicated, those two will find it. Thankfully my mother had her Mars in practical Virgo and was adept at coming along behind them and sorting out their messes. She and I always worked well together.

The challenge for Mars in Libra this time comes from facing off with three outer planets in cardinal signs: Jupiter in Cancer, Uranus in Aries and Pluto in Capricorn. Cardinal signs are the movers and shakers of the zodiac and adding Mars to the mix adds up to change of one kind or another. The problem is the change will most likely result from confrontation with little compromise and very few will be happy as a result . . . especially on a national level. Individuals may be able to resolve their issues as long as they choose to behave with a degree of maturity. Patience, tolerance and kindness will be needed more than ever.

Mars in Libra starts off making a onetime inconjunct to Neptune in Pisces at 2° on 13 December and it will be a totally passive aggressive event. I may not get out of bed that day. 😀

It is the series of aspects over the holiday season starting with the opposition to Uranus in Aries at 8° on Christmas Day, followed by the square to Pluto conjunct Mercury in Capricorn at 11° on 30-31 December and a square to the Capricorn Sun at 12° when Mars will start pushing everyone’s buttons. Navigating holiday events will require tact and oodles of patience because tempers will be very short and family gatherings fraught with peril. I suggest avoiding New Year’s Eve parties altogether if possible. The final square of importance is the square to Jupiter in Cancer at 15° on 8 January, rounding out the set.

Once the dust settles after the Holidays, please take a few moments to review what happened and with whom. This first passage of Mars over the cardinal T-Square takes place over a couple of weeks whilst in April 2014 Mars will complete a cardinal Grand Cross on April 22-23. I remain reluctant to dwell on these aspects and speculate on possible outcomes because (as I keep telling myself) no sense in worrying about “what if’s” for the next several months. The feeding frenzy in the astro-blogosphere will be bad enough as it is . . . *big sigh*

6 responses to “Observations: About that Mars in Libra coming to visit

  1. I was actually looking forward to this Mars in Libra transit as it was taking place in my 11th house and I thought it would be great for that particular houses’aspects. However, I think in-law problems are going to be the big problem during this transit, elderly mother-in -law, selfish siblings, sibling rivalry and here I am an only child with no family having to put up with it and trying to be the diplomatic Libra.

    • Hi Linda!

      I was actually looking forward to this Mars in Libra transit as it was taking place in my 11th house and I thought it would be great for that particular houses’ aspects.

      Actually I agree w/this. Mars in Libra crossing your Libra planets also harmonizes w/your Leo planets in the 9th. The week before Christmas (16th-21) when Mars is conjoining your natal Mercury (& triggering the Mercury-Uranus sq) could be when holding your tongue will not be easy. Who knows? Maybe speaking your mind will clear the air & set some of those folks straight. LOL

      Good luck! 😀

      xoxoxoxoxo diane~

  2. A great post as usual Diane, I’m grateful that you forewarn and forearm us before the BIG events!I have natal Mars in Libra (6th house)opposite a Saturn-Moon conjunction in Aries (12th). Is this likely to be an especially trying retrograde because of this natal aspect? I have most of my planets in cardinal signs (mainly Aries Libra and Capricorn)and I always find myself at the centre of battles, trying to do the decent thing. I hope this retrograde will be in my favour (the last one was TOUGH!)
    Best wishes, Season’s Greetings!
    Judy

    • Hi Judy!

      Is this likely to be an especially trying retrograde because of this natal aspect? I have most of my planets in cardinal signs (mainly Aries Libra and Capricorn)and I always find myself at the centre of battles, trying to do the decent thing. I hope this retrograde will be in my favour (the last one was TOUGH!)

      Mars in Libra opp Saturn-Moon in Aries certainly speaks to me of someone willing to stand up on behalf of others! What degrees are these planets? Are they within the 8° – 15° range most affected in the coming months? This Mars transit is bound to trigger your natal opp at some point whether or not the other outer planets do. You probably will be more willing to assert yourself than usual. Be sure to get plenty of rest & generally look after your own health & well-being over the next eight months. 😛

      xoxoxoxo diane~

  3. Do you think Mars rx in Libra will affect me differently since my natal Mars is in Libra? I’m keenly conscious these days of my frustration level with injustice and the lack of fairness in general in my line of work. The amount of suffering I encounter daily is draining. I try to detach from it and depersonalize what I see and hear, but wonder sometimes if this Mars in detriment energy pattern (think “Mars fuming”) that I have natally will harm me in the long run. 😦

    • Hey Joe! 😀

      Do you think Mars rx in Libra will affect me differently since my natal Mars is in Libra?

      It could bring out all the fault lines & make you more aware of where you need to bring some balance into your working life. Thankfully your Mars-Uranus conj will not be affected by the Uranus-Pluto sq. Having said that, your Venus-Chiron opp is right in the line of fire next April. Pay close attention to what’s happening the second week in January when Mars conjoins your Venus & Jupiter in Cancer squares it from the second house. How do your values make you vulnerable is a possible theme. 🙂

      Take care & stay warm! 😀

      xoxoxoxoxo diane~

Leave a Reply

