Observations: Solstice Musings on Shifts & Changes

In the deep woods © Mike_kiev | Dreamstime.com

What a difference it makes to have the Sun and Mercury in Sagittarius ease out of my first house into the relative quiet of my second. Even as sick as I was over the weekend I was still able to write with some fluency, nothing like the extra Sagittarius boost for inspiration. Now it is back to normal, some words coming easily and struggling for others.

Uranus in Aries is officially moving forward though its speed is in minutes rather than degrees. It is Mars in Libra who will catch up to oppose Uranus early Christmas morning, followed by the Sun and Mercury in Capricorn squaring it on December 29. What I feel is important to keep in mind is the three inner planets give us some say in how we react/respond to Uranus. We can choose to behave with some decorum for instance. Libra and Capricorn are both big on manners and appropriate behavior, so use those to avoid public meltdowns. Do take note of who starts what and why because we will probably run into these issues again in April 2014 only with the big boys in the game.

I’m not too concerned about Venus being retrograde in part because Venus in Capricorn isn’t one to air her dirty laundry in front of company. Venus in Capricorn has quite a lot in common with Saturn in Libra after all. Commitments are to be respected and relationships taken seriously. The couple of times when Venus squares Mars in Libra may create some tension in our one-on-one relationships but those differences will probably be settled in private.

What we might find ourselves doing during Capricorn season and the Venus Rx is reevaluating where we want to spend our hard earned money. Capricorn is very conscious of quality as well as appearances. Do your homework before making purchases, especially big ticket items. Might not hurt to lease or rent instead of buying and if someone goes all high powered and insists . . . walk away.

Between my slow recovery from the flu and Christmas a week away, I’m going to be posting less than usual. Way too many things to do and all. Funny thing is the last time I was this ill was seven years ago. Saturn in Leo was squaring my Ascendant with Mars and Jupiter in Sagittarius in my first house. That was a cathartic experience too. What is it about this time of year? Burn away the old to make way for the new?

8 responses to “Observations: Solstice Musings on Shifts & Changes

  1. I’m so sorry to hear you’re ill. That’s never fun, but during the holidays it really stinks. Rest up. I hope you have a very Merry Christmas and the best New Year ever.

  2. Merry Xmas and hope you recover completely soon.
    I always enjoy reading you and thank you for keeping me up to date.

  3. Feel better soon!

    Looks like 12/29 is going to be an interesting day for me – that combo of Sun-Mercury square the Mars-Uranus opposition is in my Lunar Opposition on that day, and I have plenty of aspects that day (nice ones to my Ascendant-Jupiter opposition, hard ones to my North Node). I’m not even going to guess, there’s just too much!

  4. Feel better soon Diane. I agree with your whole post and especially about the money, now that you mention it! That could apply quite widely. I think we’re all going to be very conservative in our Christmas spending this year and the effect on the wider economy will follow.

  5. So sorry you’ve been poorly. Get well soon.

    I got a much larger than expected tax bill in the post yesterday, and it has jolted me into a curb on the frittering away of money that has been happening of late and a practical plan to cut back. I have excuses for the spending but at the end of the day it’s about the bank balance. Venus in Capricorn is a great believe in the bottom line.

  6. Sorry you’ve been sick, Diane. Glad to hear you’re starting to feel better. Take care and get some rest despite the holidays!

    I’ve had Saturn squaring my Ascendant, but fortunately haven’t gotten sick (at least not yet). But the condo closing happened on Friday, not without some hitches of course! Still waiting to see the payoff and proceeds hit my bank – presumably Monday, but there’s always that anxiety (sigh). Since I haven’t lived in the condo since 2007, I’ll have a big tax hit as well coming up. Saturn likes to put a damper on things, no? Still, all should be wrapped up by the end of this crazy year!

    Merry Christmas to you and yours!

Leave a Reply

