New Moon Solar Eclipse in Pisces, March 20, 2015

These New Moons landing on the anaretic degree send a unique message because they combine endings and beginnings all wrapped into one lunation. This is a particularly potent lunation because it is a Solar Eclipse as well as a New Moon at 29° 27′ Pisces on 20 March 2015, 02:36 AM PDT. One way of looking at this lunation is we must make a clean break with the past in order to make a fresh start.

Both the Sun and Moon make the transition from watery Pisces to fiery Aries within a few hours after this lunation. We go from standing in the cool, damp shade out into the hot sun so quickly it will probably be disorienting for many. The New Moon chart is dominated by earth and water signs, exuding a quiet, patient energy.

The only aspect the luminaries make is a wide out-of-sign trine to Saturn in Sagittarius which produces more dissonance than harmony. Impatient, blunt Sagittarius can step all over Pisces’s toes without realizing it. Saturn is also inconjunct Venus who has recently arrived home in one of her comfort zones, Taurus. I would say Saturn in Sagittarius better be prepared to sit down, shut up and relax already. Neither Taurus nor Pisces will be hurried.

Mercury is still widely conjunct Neptune in Pisces, sending messages through our dreams and visions. This combination is extraordinarily difficult to pin down and will avoid giving a direct answer if at all possible. Go with your initial intuitive response when confronted with a choice. In order to hear this subtle voice, we may need to quiet our busy minds first with mediation of some kind.

Of course, the Uranus-Pluto square is still within orb though the trine between Uranus in Aries and Jupiter in Leo is now beginning to fade. Jupiter is the apex of a Yod with Pluto in Capricorn sextile Mercury in Pisces as the base. The message is a variation of the one to Saturn in Sagittarius, and that is to set the ego aside and listen to compassionate yet practical advice.

After making such a nuisance of himself last week when he conjoined Uranus, Mars in Aries travels alone in this chart. This does allow us to experience the positive side of Mars in his home sign. Forthright and self directed Mars in Aries is very good at fresh starts. If you have personal planets and/or an Ascendant between 20° to 22° in the cardinal signs, Mars will happily give you a boost.

Take some time on this New Moon to examine your life. What we take with us from here will be critical to our future success. Exercise some Pisces compassion and avoid self recriminations as it is time to acknowledge and forgive ourselves for being human. Making mistakes is part of the process and usually it means we are engaged in actively living our lives . . . which is what Aries is all about. See you on the flip side!

6 responses to “New Moon Solar Eclipse in Pisces, March 20, 2015

    • Yes . . . Our Suns are both inconjunct this New Moon. Problem is Pisces feels all muddled up and messy to us. We have to draw on our earth & water planets (or in my case, my ASC) to make sense of it all. 😀 This influence ought to fade away quickly like a bad dream under the bright light of the Aries Sun & Moon.

      xoxoxo diane~

  1. Hi Diane, does 29 degrees Pisces happen in my 8th house ? Would make sense if it does ?
    Thank you. Hope all good and well with you.
    Deirdre

    • Hi Deirdre! 🙂

      Indeed it does and since it is widely trine your Venus, financial decisions are more likely to be favorable to you. 😀

      xoxoxoxo diane~

  2. Welcome back Diane, I kept on checking your site and really missed your astrologic(al) comments and explanations!
    This New Moon / eclipse seems really important to me, and everything you say about it, is reflecting inside of me. I have had a rough few moneths lately, made a repetitive mistake concerning love. Now I am alone again, and have to look at my future and it feels dark, I really don’t know where to go. I know I have to go inside (do my special meditation exercise) to look and see what is there and why but am a bit reluctant. thankfully everyhting is going slow so I can take my time (Cap Sun, Taurus Moon… 😉 and I’ll do my exercise before the eclipse, though it is coming closer… I just need some trust, emotionally and financially, and those are just the things I completely lost the last few months.
    I gave it all away and have to learn to give it to myself first. I made this ‘circle’ toom many times so I am going into therapy also. I can’t fix this one on my own. So, trying to let it all go and surrender…
    Astrologically this hard way lesson is quite clear, First time transiting Pluto over my 12th house Venus (opp Saturn) and transiting Saturn conjunct my Midheaven, and just stationed right there… so I guess I have to go back first, to choose the right path… again 😉

Leave a Reply

